Scandinavia Design

FLOS
Italian Design 🇮🇹

Espace Client
Fr
Panier

En

Menu

10% off on FLOS

Flos is an Italian lighting company that produces many design icons, including the Arco floor lamp and the Snoopy and Taccia lamps. Flos was born in 1960 in Merano, northern Italy. At the time, Dino Gavina had borrowed an American technique, also researched by George Nelson  (who had himself, imported it from Sweden). It allowed to create lighting fixtures that were graphic, innovative and very comfortable to the eye by stretching a synthetic fabric on a light skeleton: this is how the Cocoon, Taraxacum and Fantasma lamps were created, designed by Tobia Scarpa and the Castiglioni brothers. [Read more]

Lampes d’Extérieur Flos

▸ Flos outdoor lamps

Flos floor lamps

Flos table lamps

Flos wireless lamps

Flos spots & ceiling lamps

Flos wall lamps

Flos outdoor lamps

Now under the leadership of Sergio Gandini, who moved the company to Brescia to take advantage of a more dynamic environment, Flos ("flower" in Latin) experienced a rapid development. The company took inspiration from Italian, German and Scandinavian influences to give birth to many design icons, such as the revolutionary Arco by the Castiglioni brothers. In 1972, a major exhibition at New York's MoMA brought the brand to the attention of design enthusiasts around the world.

From then on, Flos grew steadily, thanks to a clever balance between aesthetic audacity, craftsmanship and technology: Gino Sarfatti's Arteluce company was bought at the beginning of the 1980s ; an international exhibition celebrates Achille Castiglioni in 1984 ; Antares, a company specializing in light-emitting diodes, was acquired in 2000 ; international designers collaborate with the group, such as French designers Philippe Starck and Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec, Englishmen Jasper Morrison, Edward Barber and Jay Osgerby, German artist Konstantin Grcic, Dutch designer Marcel Wanders, Michael Anastassiades from Cyprus and Japanese studio Nendo.

jusqu’à -15% de remise sur la gamme Flos

FLOS
luminaires design

En 2019, Flos s'est uni au fabriquant de luminaires design danois Louis Poulsen  pour franchir un nouveau pallier dans son développement, initié en 1960 à Merano, au Nord de l'Italie. A l'époque, Dino Gavina s'était emparé d'une technique américaine, explorée notamment par George Nelson (qui l'avait lui-même importée de Suède), qui permettait de créer des luminaires à la fois graphiques, innovants et très confortables à l'œil en tendant une toile synthétique sur un squelette léger : c'est ainsi que naquirent les lampes Cocoon, Taraxacum et Fantasma , réalisées par Tobia Scarpa et les frères Achille et Pier Giacomo Castiglioni. 

Passé sous la houlette de  Sergio Gandini, qui déplaça l'entreprise à Brescia pour profiter d'un environnement plus porteur, Flos  (« fleur » en latin) connut dès lors un développement rapide, absorbant les influences italiennes, allemandes et scandinaves pour donner naissance à de nombreuses icônes du design, telle la révolutionnaire Arco des frères Castiglioni. En 1972, une grande exposition au MoMA de New York fit connaître la marque aux yeux des amateurs de design du monde entier. 

Dès lors, Flos grandit de manière soutenue, grâce à un savant équilibre entre audace esthétique, artisanat et technologie: l'entreprise Arteluce de Gino Sarfatti est rachetée à l'orée des années 80 ; une nouvelle exposition internationale célèbre Achille Castiglioni en 1984 ; l'entreprise Antares, spécialisée dans les diodes électroluminescentes, est rachetée en 2000 ; des designers internationaux collaborent avec le groupe, comme les français Philippe Starck et les frères Ronan et Erwan Bouroullec, les britanniques Jasper Morrison, Edward Barber et Jay Osgerby, l'allemand Konstantin Grcic, le hollandais Marcel Wanders, le chypriote Michael Anastassiades et le studio japonais Nendo. 

Achille et Pier Castiglioni avec Marcel Breuer, 1962

Tobia Scarpa, 1961

MIROIRS

suspensions 

suspensions 2097/18, 2097/30 et 2097/50
design Gino Sarfatti, 1958
Flos

suspensions Noctambule
design Konstantin Grcic, 2018

Flos

suspensions Arrangements
design Michael Anastassiades, 2018
Flos

suspensions Aim
design Erwan & Ronan Bouroullec, 2013
Flos

KTribe S1, S2, S3
design Philippe Stark, 2005
Flos

suspensions May Day
design Konstantin Grcic, 2000
Flos

lampadaires

lampes May Day
design Konstantin Grcic, 2000
Flos

lampes de table

appliques

Gaku
design Nendo, 2018
Flos

miroirs