> then and now

> coherence

Several key factors unite the Scandinavian approach to design. A number of these have their origin in the characteristics of the Nordic environment. The northern countries are famously dark, cold and snow-covered for long months of the year, with brief, intense light-filled summers. Important areas are mountainous and heavily forested. It is therefore not surprising that many Scandinavian designs have been inspired in some sense by organic forms, materials or natural patterning.
 
To survive in such inhospitable conditions, Scandinavian have developed a strong practical bent that makes the most out of limited resources and delivers workable solution with optimum economy. Before the modernist’ credo “form follows function” was ever coined, the useful everyday Scandinavian objects displayed such a conviction.
 
Because industrialisation arrived late in the region, the traditional craft skills remained alive. As a result, Scandinavian modern refused to allow the machine production to supplant the instinctive handling of materials that is innate to craft. While resourcefulness and practicality give Scandinavian design its clarity, its living craft tradition root the design process in the material world and the individual artistic imagination.
 
During the long months of darkness, Scandinavian homes had to offer psychological warmth as well as physical shelter and the notion of domestic cheer is embedded in the Scandinavian approach to design. Emotional warmth is never designed out of the picture, as it can be in the more austere reaches of the industrial inspired Bauhaus aesthetic. That warmth may be expressed in colour, pattern and texture or in organic form, but there is always a human quality to Scandinavian design, even at its most futuristic.
 
There is also an important moral dimension, which has to do with the political and civic climate rather that the physical one. The prevailing ethos in Scandinavia has long been socially inclusive, liberal and tolerant, which has led to the shared conviction that it is the role of design to improve life for everyone, not to pander to a privileged minority. As a consequence, simple, understated, well-made products have long been preferred over conspicuous consumption of status symbols or showy grandiose effect.
1959
1968
1974
1952
1935
1946
The first golden age of Scandinavian design extends from the 1930s to the beginning of the 1970s. Its founders are called Alvar Aalto, Arne Jacobsen, Borge Mogensen, Hans J. Wegner, Verner Panton, Poul Henningsen, Maija Isola, etc.
 
These precursors have provided the model and set of values which still inspire the new scandinavian design: durability, functionality, reliability - but also less tangible values ​​such as simplicity, equality, joy, courage, daily pleasure visible through the creations of new scandinavian brands such as Muuto, Hay and Ferm Living.

Tree coat stand

design M. Young & K.O. Petursdottir

Swedese

Cuba chair MG501

design Morten Gøttler 

Carl Hansen

& Søn

2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's

Caravaggio pendant

design Cecilie Manz

Light Years

2004
2010's
2009
2009
2008
2005
2006
2000
1998
2002
2003
1986
1971
1971
1970
1970
1969

JL341 pendant

design

Juha Leiviskä

1968
1968
1962
1964
1964
1964
1963
1962
1960
1961
1960
1958
1958
1958
1958
1958
1958
1957
1956
1956
1956
1956
1955
1955
1955
1955
1955
1955
1954
1953
1953
1953
1951
2007
1949
1949
1951
1950
1950
1950
1949
1946
1945
1944
1944
1941
1940
1940
1940
1936
1936
1936
1933
1932
1931
1931
1934
1952

scandinavian design

decoration 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
special offers 
cheaper elsewhere?
we offer you
the same price
-5%
 
> email us
pro 
need some advice? please write to us!

> hier et aujourd'hui

> cohérence

Plusieurs facteurs clefs ont façonné le design scandinave,  parmi lesquels un bon nombre sont liés aux conditions environnementales. Les pays nordiques sont célèbres pour leurs longs mois dominés par l’obscurité, le froid et la neige, avec des belles saisons brèves, intenses et très lumineuses. De  vastes zones sont montagneuses et couvertes de forêts. Rien d’étonnant, dans ces conditions, à ce que le design scandinave soit très inspiré par la nature, au travers des formes, des matériaux ou des motifs ornementaux.
 
Pour survivre dans ces conditions inhospitalières, les Nordiques ont depuis toujours intégré l’idée qu’il fallait apprendre à tirer le maximum des ressources limitées. L’inutile et le gaspillage n’y ont pas leur place. Cette économie de moyen conditionne les objets du quotidien scandinave depuis bien avant l’apparition du fameux crédo du design moderniste – la forme doit obéir à la fonction.
 
Comme l’industrialisation est arrivée tardivement dans la région, l’artisanat traditionnel était resté vivant quand le design a pris son essor. Issu de cet artisanat, les précurseurs du design scandinave n’ont jamais laissé la machine prendre le pas sur le savoir-faire manuel et c’est au contact direct des matériaux qu’ils ont nourri leur imagination d’artiste.
 
Du fait des longs mois d’hiver, les maisons se doivent d’offrir une protection à la fois physique et moral et l’aspiration au bien-être intérieur a toujours été au cœur des préoccupations des designers. Sur ce point, le design scandinave s’écarte sensiblement de traditions plus austères, comme le Bauhaus très inspiré par l’univers industriel. Qu’elle s’exprime par le choix des matériaux, les couleurs, les matières ou les formes organiques,  la chaleur humaine est toujours présente dans le design scandinave, même dans les versions les plus futuristes.
 
Un dernier facteur clef relève, non pas du climat physique, mais du climat moral, politique et social. Les société scandinaves sont traditionnellement inclusives et égalitaires, libérales et tolérantes. Le design y est considéré comme un moyen d’améliorer la vie quotidienne de tout un chacun, et non seulement d’une élite privilégiée. Cela explique la prévalence des objets simples, compréhensibles et bien faits au détriment d’un design plus ostentatoire et spectaculaire.
1959
1968
1974
1952
1935
1946
Le premier âge d'or du design scandinave s’étend des années 1930 jusqu'au début des années 1970. Ses pères fondateurs s’appellent Alvar Aalto, Arne Jacobsen, Borge Mogensen, Hans J. Wegner, Verner Panton, Poul Henningsen, Maija Isola, etc.
 
Ces précurseurs ont fourni le modèle et le corpus de valeurs sur lesquelles le nouveau design scandinave continue de s’appuyer aujourd’hui : durabilité, fonctionnalité, fiabilité, honnêteté - mais aussi des valeurs moins matérielles telles que simplicité, égalité, joie, audace, plaisir quotidien, visibles à travers les formes simples, graphiques et souvent colorées du nouveau design scandinave porté par des marques comme Muuto, Hay ou Ferm Living.

Tree coat stand

design M. Young & K.O. Petursdottir

Swedese

Fauteuil Cuba MG501

design Morten Gøttler 

Carl Hansen

& Søn

2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2010's
2004
2010's
2009
2009
2008
2005
2006
2000
1998
2002
2003
1986
1971
1971
1970
1970
1969

suspension JL341

design

Juha Leiviskä

Artek

1968
1968
1962
1964
1964
1964
1963
1962
1960
1961
1960
1958
1958
1958
1958
1958
1958
1957
1956
1956
1956
1956
1955
1955
1955
1955
1955
1955
1954
1953
1953
1953
1951
2007
1949
1949
1951
1950
1950
1950
1949
1946
1945
1944
1944
1941
1940
1940
1940
1936
1936
1936
1933
1932
1931
1931
1934
1952

le design scandinave

décoration 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
offres spéciales 
moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous
pro 
besoin de conseil ? écrivez-nous !