Scandinavia Design
Espace Client
Fr
Panier
En

Sarpaneva cast iron casserole
Timo Sarpaneva, 1960

Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960

The Sarpaneva casserole has a removable wooden handle inspired by Finnish folklore, recalling the shelter of the forest and cooking by fire. Quickly becoming iconic, the Sarpaneva casserole was commemorated on a Finnish postage stamp in 1998.

The heavy iron ensures slow, even cooking both on the cooker and in the oven. The enamelled inner surface ensures easy cleaning and that no flavour sticks to the pot. The ingenious curved wooden handle means you can lift the whole pot to the table, or just the lid, without burning your fingers.

Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960
Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960
Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960
Sarpaneva cast iron casserole design Timo Sarpaneva, 1960

Sarpaneva 3L
21,9 x 21,9 x H17,75

Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960
Sarpaneva cast iron casserole Timo Sarpaneva, 1960

Timo Sarpaneva

Timo Sarpaneva

Timo Sarpaneva (1926-2006) was an international force in Finnish design. A designer, sculptor and educator, Timo Sarpaneva’s pioneering glass work merged art with utilitarian design. Besides glass, he also worked with textiles, wood, porcelain and metal. Timo Sarpaneva’s unique industrial design that helped to pioneer Finland’s global design reputation. Timo Sarpaneva’s works are exhibited internationally. He has received much recognition throughout his illustrious career including the Lunning Prize and was twice awarded at the Milan Triennale. In 1976, Timo Sarpaneva received the honorary title of Professor from the Finnish government.

Throughout his long collaboration with Iittala, Timo Sarpaneva was responsible for creating key hallmarks of the company’s style. He designed the “i” logo which serves as the symbol of the company. In addition, Iittala’s Sarpaneva, a cast-iron pot, is a timeless classic that has been recognized as an international design icon.

La cocotte Sarpaneva a un manche en bois amovible s'inspirant du folklore finlandais, rappelant l'abri de la forêt et la cuisson au feu. Vite devenue iconique, la cocotte Sarpaneva a été commémoré en 1998 par un timbre-poste finlandais.

Le fer lourd assure une cuisson lente et uniforme à la fois sur la cuisinière et au four. La surface émaillée intérieure garantit un nettoyage facile et qu'aucune saveur ne colle au pot. L'ingénieux manche en bois incurvé permet de soulever toute la marmite jusqu'à la table ou seulement le couvercle sans se brûler les doigts. 

Fait un cadeau vraiment attentionné.

Sarpaneva 3L
21,9 x 21,9 x H17,75
269 €

Timo Sarpaneva

Timo Sarpaneva (1926-2006) était un élément international majeur dans le design finlandais. Concepteur, sculpteur et éducateur, Timo Sarpaneva a fait appel à l’œuvre de verre et au design utilitaire. Outre le verre, il a également travaillé avec les textiles, le bois, la porcelaine et le métal. Le design industriel unique de Timo Sarpaneva a contribué à faire connaître la réputation mondiale de la Finlande. Les œuvres de Timo Sarpaneva sont exposées à l’international. Il a reçu de nombreuses récompenses au cours de son illustre carrière, notamment le prix Lunning, et a été récompensé à deux reprises à la Triennale de Milan. En 1976, Timo Sarpaneva a reçu le titre honorifique de professeur du gouvernement finlandais.

Tout au long de sa longue collaboration avec Iittala, Timo Sarpaneva a été chargé de créer les principales caractéristiques du style de la société. Il a conçu le logo «i», symbole de la société. De plus, le Sarpaneva d'Iittala, un pot en fonte, est un classique intemporel reconnu comme une icône du design international.