15% OFF with DESIGN15

&Tradition

TRIPOD Floor & Table lamps

design Hvidt & Mølgaard, 1953

The floor & table lamps Tripod from 1953 reflect the clean minimalism of the gifted duo Hvidt & Mølgaard. Built from lacquered steel with brass details, Tripod strikes a delicate balance between the stark simplicity of its design and the softness injected by the curved edges of its base.

Although the lamps were designed in 1953, this is the first time they are in production.

Materials shade spun from a single piece of aluminum – base made from bend steel tubes – laquered in a satin matt finish – 3 colors : black, maroon and moss (grey)

Certification CE, IP20, Class II 

Tripod floor lamp - HM8

Dimensions H134 cm – base 47 x 63 cm – weight 5,3 kg – cord 2 m, with switch

Light source 1 x E27 - bulb not included

Tripod floor lamp - Black

672 €

Tripod floor lamp - Maroon

672 €

Tripod floor lamp - Moss (grey)

672 €

Tripod table lamp - HM9

Dimensions H45 cm – base 26 x 31 cm – weight 0.9 kg – cord 2 m, with switch

Light source 1 x E14 - bulb not included

Tripod table lamp - Black

322 €

Tripod table lamp - Maroon

322 €

Tripod table lamp - Moss (grey)

322 €

Hvidt & Mølgaard

Peter Hvidt (1916-1986) and Orla Mølgaard-Nielsen (1907-1993) were pioneers of Danish mid-century design and the founders of Copenhagen-based firm Hvidt & Mølgaard.

Renowned for the simplicity of their works, the duo established a simple and precise aesthetic designing countless pieces of furniture over the years, many of which became icons of the era. The success of the AX chair (crafted in 1950) was a seminal moment for the pair. Not only did its smooth, tightly controlled silhouette secure their stance as leaders of Danish modernism, but the use of laminated wood allowed the chair to be produced on a mass scale and exported internationally. This forward-thinking approach to industrialized production paved the way for a new movement that drew upon classical craftsmanship techniques to make affordable, beautifully crafted home furnishings.

Both Hvidt and Mølgaard-Nielsen boasted superior technical skills. Mølgaard-Nielsen studied furniture design at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts under the tutelage of Kaare Klint, while Hvidt gained knowledge of traditional craftsmanship during his time studying cabinetry at the School of Arts and Crafts in Copenhagen. Today, their work can be found exhibited at MoMA, Melbourne’s National Gallery, and Copenhagen’s Design Museum.

-15% avec NEWYEAR15

&Tradition

Lampadaire & Lampe de table TRIPOD

design Hvidt & Mølgaard, 1953

Le lampadaire et la lampe de table Tripod de 1953 illustrent à merveille le minimalisme caractéristique de Hvidt & Mølgaard. Réalisées en acier peint rehaussé de subtils détails en laiton, les lampes Tripod séduisent par leur équilibre délicat entre l’austérité de leur conception d’ensemble et la douceur expressive de leur base aux formes arrondies.

 Bien que ces lampes aient été dessinées en 1953, leur mise en production est très récente.

Matériaux abat-jour réalisé en une seule feuille d’aluminium – base en tube d’acier – finition peinture mate noire, mousse (grise) ou marron – détails en laiton.

Certification CE, IP20, Class II 

Lampadaire Tripod - HM8

Dimensions H134 cm – base 47 x 63 cm – poids 5,3 kg – fil 2 m, avec interrupteur

Source lumineuse 1 x E27 - ampoule non incluse

lampadaire Tripod noir

672 €

lampadaire Tripod marron

672 €

lampadaire Tripod Moss (gris)

672 €

Lampe de table Tripod - HM9

Dimensions H45 cm – base 26 x 31 cm – poids 0,9 kg – fil 2 m, avec interrupteur

Source lumineuse 1 x E14 - ampoule non incluse

lampe de table Tripod noire

322 €

lampe de table Tripod marron

322 €

lampe de table Tripod Moss (grise)

322 €

Hvidt & Mølgaard

Peter Hvidt (1916-1986) et Orla Mølgaard-Nielsen (1907-1993) ont été les pionniers du design danois du milieu du siècle et les fondateurs de la société basée à Copenhague Hvidt & Mølgaard.

Reconnu pour la simplicité de ses œuvres, le duo a établi une esthétique simple et précise en concevant d'innombrables meubles au fil des ans, dont beaucoup sont devenus des icônes de l'époque. Le succès de la chaise AX (fabriquée en 1950) a été un moment déterminant pour le duo. Non seulement sa silhouette précise et rigoureuse a affermi leur position en tant que leaders du modernisme danois, mais l'utilisation du bois lamellé a permis à la chaise d'être produite à grande échelle et exportée à l'international. Cette approche avant-gardiste de la production industrialisée a ouvert la voie à un nouveau mouvement qui s'appuyait sur des techniques artisanales classiques pour fabriquer des meubles domestiques abordables et beaux.

Hvidt et Mølgaard-Nielsen possédaient des compétences techniques supérieures. Mølgaard-Nielsen a étudié la conception de meubles à l'Académie royale des beaux-arts du Danemark sous la tutelle de Kaare Klint, tandis que Hvidt a acquis des connaissances en artisanat traditionnel pendant ses études d'ébénisterie à la School of Arts and Crafts de Copenhague. Aujourd'hui, leurs œuvres sont exposées au MoMA, à la National Gallery de Melbourne et au Design Museum de Copenhague.