15% OFF with DESIGN15

&Tradition

Drawn Chairs

design Hvidt & Mølgaard, 1956

By the time Hvidt and Mølgaard designed Drawn - also known as the 316 model - in 1956, the duo had fifteen years of experience in making furniture. Using traditional techniques learned at the Copenhagen School of Arts and Crafts, they instilled the Drawn chairs with a feeling of warmth and authenticity.

Combining the beauty of historic Danish manufacturing with a resolutely modern sensibility, the Drawn chairs have a structure in solid oak or walnut with a seat in hand-woven paper cord. Although the light frame may suggest the opposite, Drawn is a robust and stable piece which is underlined by a deep understanding comfort.

The backrest, smooth and crescent-shaped, is supported by two columns that stretch to the floor. Elegant symmetry is maintained with the identical front legs. Available in white oiled oak or oiled walnut, Drawn is available in two versions: a chair without armrests (HM3) and a larger model with armrests (HM4).

Matériaux turned and milled solid wood parts with a formpressed backrest. The seat is hand-woven from more than 100 meter natural paper cord

Dimensions HM3 : W40 x D46 x H78 cm – HM4 : W59 x D54 x H78 cm – seat height 46 cm

HM3 (without armrests)
white oiled oak

665 €

HM3 (without armrests)

oiled walnut

804 €

HM4 (with armrests)
white oiled oak

930 €

HM4 (with armrests)

oiled walnut

1068 €

Hvidt & Mølgaard

Peter Hvidt (1916-1986) and Orla Mølgaard-Nielsen (1907-1993) were pioneers of Danish mid-century design and the founders of Copenhagen-based firm Hvidt & Mølgaard.


Renowned for the simplicity of their works, the duo established a simple and precise aesthetic designing countless pieces of furniture over the years, many of which became icons of the era. The success of the AX chair (crafted in 1950) was a seminal moment for the pair. Not only did its smooth, tightly controlled silhouette secure their stance as leaders of Danish modernism, but the use of laminated wood allowed the chair to be produced on a mass scale and exported internationally. This forward-thinking approach to industrialized production paved the way for a new movement that drew upon classical craftsmanship techniques to make affordable, beautifully crafted home furnishings.


Both Hvidt and Mølgaard-Nielsen boasted superior technical skills. Mølgaard-Nielsen studied furniture design at the Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts under the tutelage of Kaare Klint, while Hvidt gained knowledge of traditional craftsmanship during his time studying cabinetry at the School of Arts and Crafts in Copenhagen. Today, their work can be found exhibited at MoMA, Melbourne’s National Gallery, and Copenhagen’s Design Museum.

&Tradition
chaise Drawn
design Hvidt & Mølgaard, 1956

Hvidt et Mølgaard ont conçu la chaise Drawn en 1956. Également connue sous le nom « modèle 316 », elle est le fruit de quinze ans d'expérience et de complicité entre les deux designers, amoureux des techniques artisanales traditionnelles danoises qu’ils apprirent à l'École des arts et métiers de Copenhague. 

Les chaises Drawn ont une structure en chêne ou en noyer massif soutenant une assise en corde de papier tressée à la main. Bien que son allure légère puisse suggérer le contraire, Drawn est une chaise robuste et stable dotée d’un excellent confort, qu’elle soit avec – version HM4 – ou sans accoudoir – version HM3.

Structure bois massif tourné et fraisé, dossier en multi-plis moulé, assise en corde de papier naturel

Dimensions HM3 L40 x P46 x H78 cm – HM4 L59 x P54 x H78 cm – Hauteur d’assise 46 cm

HM3 – sans accoudoirs
chêne huilé blanchi

665 €

HM3 – sans accoudoirs

noyer huilé

804 €

HM4 – avec accoudoirs
chêne huilé blanchi

930 €

HM4 – avec accoudoirs

noyer huilé

1068 €

Hvidt & Mølgaard

Peter Hvidt (1916-1986) et Orla Mølgaard-Nielsen (1907-1993) ont été les pionniers du design danois du milieu du siècle et les fondateurs de la société basée à Copenhague Hvidt & Mølgaard.

Reconnu pour la simplicité de ses œuvres, le duo a établi une esthétique simple et précise en concevant d'innombrables meubles au fil des ans, dont beaucoup sont devenus des icônes de l'époque. Le succès de la chaise AX (fabriquée en 1950) a été un moment déterminant pour le duo. Non seulement sa silhouette précise et rigoureuse a affermi leur position en tant que leaders du modernisme danois, mais l'utilisation du bois lamellé a permis à la chaise d'être produite à grande échelle et exportée à l'international. Cette approche avant-gardiste de la production industrialisée a ouvert la voie à un nouveau mouvement qui s'appuyait sur des techniques artisanales classiques pour fabriquer des meubles domestiques abordables et beaux.

Hvidt et Mølgaard-Nielsen possédaient des compétences techniques supérieures. Mølgaard-Nielsen a étudié la conception de meubles à l'Académie royale des beaux-arts du Danemark sous la tutelle de Kaare Klint, tandis que Hvidt a acquis des connaissances en artisanat traditionnel pendant ses études d'ébénisterie à la School of Arts and Crafts de Copenhague. Aujourd'hui, leurs œuvres sont exposées au MoMA, à la National Gallery de Melbourne et au Design Museum de Copenhague.

Viggo Boesen

Viggo Boesen est un architecte relativement peu connu qui contribua de manière significative au développement du design danois au cours des années 1930. Son travail reflète le style scandinave «Funkis», interprétation nordique de l’art déco.


Loin des productions en série et de l'approche less-is-more de l'école de pensée du Bauhaus, Boesen se caractérise par un design doux, chaleureux et presque naïf, qui renouvelait l'esthétique des meubles rembourrés.


Seules quelques-unes de ses créations ont été produites, mais ses idées originales, ses formes organiques et son vocabulaire esthétique ont nourri les créations du modernisme danois durant les décennies suivantes.