Poul Henningsen was born in Copenhagen to the famous Danish actress Agnes Henningsen. He never graduated as an architect, but studied at The Technical School at Frederiksberg, Denmark from 1911-14, and then at Technical College in Copenhagen from 1914-17.
 
He started practicing traditional functionalistic architecture, but over the years his professional interests changed to focus mainly on lighting which is what he is most famous for. He also expanded his field of occupation into areas of writing, becoming a journalist and an author. For a short period at the beginning of WWII, he was the head architect of the Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen. But like many other creative people, he was forced to flee Denmark during the German occupation but soon became a vital part of the Danish colony of artists living in Sweden.
 
His lifelong collaboration with Louis Poulsen Lighting began in 1925 and lasted until his death. To this day, Louis Poulsen Lighting still benefits from his genius. Poul Henningsen was also the first editor of the company magazine “NYT”. The CEO of Louis Poulsen at the time, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, gave the magazine to PH as a gift because he had been terminated from the Danish newspaper he worked for (his opinions were too radical).
 
Poul Henningsen's pioneering work concerning the relations between light structures, shadows, glare, and color reproduction—compared to man’s need for light remains the fondation of the lighting theories still practiced by Louis Poulsen Lighting.

Poul Henningsen

Click on View to select your light source.
Click on View to select your light source.
Click on View to select your light source.
Click on View to select your light source.

PH Artichoke in Brushed Brass – 60 Years Edition

A true icon never stops reinventing itself, and Poul Henningsen’s PH Artichoke has proven to be no exception. Since Henningsen designed the widely celebrated pendant in 1958, it has made itself at home all over the world, taking on new expressions with every new finish in interiors both classic and modern. This year, Louis Poulsen celebrates the design’s 60th anniversary with a beautiful new brushed brass edition, engraved with a unique number.
 
Originally designed for the Langelinie Pavillonen restaurant in Copenhagen, where it still hangs today, the sculptural PH Artichoke quickly drew attention with its unique, organic form – and its ability to instantly lend a space elegance and ambience. Keeping the source of light hidden within its layers of leaves, the pendant creates soft, glare-free illumination. The brushed brass finish, which gives the familiar shape a new expression, reflects today’s interior décor while bringing timeless warmth and sophistication to diverse interiors.
 

Material Leaves in punched brass. Top shade in spun steel. Frame high lustre chrome plated, laser cut steel.
Dimensions Ø48xH49,7cm or Ø60xH58cm
Light source Ø48cm 1 x E27
Light source Ø60cm 1 x E27 – 96W LED 2700K – 96W LED 3000K
Light driving Ø60cm Dimmable via wireless Bluetooth (20m)
white
stainless steel
copper
polished stainless steel

Louis Poulsen

 

PH Artichoke

 

design Poul Henningsen, 1958

The PH Artichoke is considered to be a classical masterpiece made by Poul Henningsen more than 40 years ago. The structure is made of twelve steel arches. On this structure PH placed 72 copper “leaves” in twelve circular rows with six blades in each row. Because each row is staggered from the previous, all 72 leaves are able to “cover for each other”. This design allows viewing the fixture from any angle without being able to see the light source located in the center of the PH Artichoke. The original PH Artichokes were developed for a restaurant in Copenhagen called the Langelinie Pavilion, and they are still hanging there today.
 
Dimensions Ø48 x H49.7cm – Ø60 x H58cm – Ø72 x H65cm – Ø84 x H72cm
 
Light source Ø48cm 1 x E27
Light source Ø60cm 1 x E27, dimable LED circuit (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou dimable LED circuit 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Light source Ø72cm 1 x E27, dimable LED circuit (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou dimable LED circuit 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Light source Ø84cm 1 x E27, dimable LED circuit (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou dimable LED circuit 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Wiring The LED versions (Ø60, Ø72, Ø84 cm) are available in DALI wired version and Bluetooth (maximum distance between external driver and lamp: 20m).
Finish Copper (brushed and coated) – Stainless steel (brushed and coated) – White (wet painted) – Polished stainless steel.
Material Leaves: Punched copper, laser cut stainless steel or punched steel. Top shade: White, spun steel. Frame: High lustre chrome plated, laser cut steel. Suspension: High lustre chrome plated, spun aluminium.
Weight Min: 4.8 kg Max: 27.8 kg
Class Ingress protection IP20. Electric shock protection I w. ground.
decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Né à Copenhague, Poul Henningsen avait pour mère la célèbre actrice danoise Agnes Henningsen. Il n’a jamais obtenu son diplôme d’architecte, mais a étudié à l’école technique de Frederiksberg (Danemark) de 1911 à 1914, puis au Technical College de Copenhague (1914-1917).
 
Il a commencé à pratiquer l'architecture traditionnelle fonctionnaliste, mais au fil des ans, ses intérêts professionnels ont évolué pour se concentrer principalement sur l'éclairage, qui est ce qui le rend le plus célèbre. Il a également étendu son domaine d’activité à des domaines d’écriture, devenant journaliste et auteur. Pendant une courte période au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a été l’architecte en chef des jardins de Tivoli à Copenhague. Mais comme beaucoup d'autres créatifs, il a été contraint de fuir le Danemark pendant l'occupation allemande, puis est rapidement devenu un élément vital de la colonie danoise d'artistes vivant en Suède.
 
Sa longue collaboration avec Louis Poulsen a commencé en 1925 et a duré jusqu'à sa mort. À ce jour, Louis Poulsen bénéficie toujours de son génie. Poul Henningsen était également le premier rédacteur en chef du magazine d'entreprise «NYT». Le PDG de Louis Poulsen à l’époque, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, a offert le magazine à PH parce qu’il avait été licencié du journal danois pour lequel il travaillait (ses opinions étaient trop radicales).
 
Le travail de pionnier de Poul Henningsen sur les relations entre les structures lumineuses, les ombres, l’éblouissement et la reproduction des couleurs, comparé au besoin de lumière de l’homme, reste le fondement des théories lumineuses encore pratiquées par Louis Poulsen.

Poul Henningsen

Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir votre source lumineuse.
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir votre source lumineuse.
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir votre source lumineuse.
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir votre source lumineuse.

PH Artichoke en laiton brossé – Édition 60 Ans

Une véritable icône ne cesse de se réinventer, et la PH Artichaut de Poul Henningsen ne fait pas exception. Depuis que Henningsen a conçu la célèbre suspension en 1958, elle s'est imposée dans le monde entier, prenant de nouvelles expressions avec chaque nouvelle finition dans des intérieurs à la fois classiques et modernes. Cette année, Louis Poulsen célèbre le 60e anniversaire de la lampe une nouvelle édition en laiton brossé numérotée.
 
Conçue à l'origine pour le restaurant Langelinie Pavillonen de Copenhague, où elle est encore accrochée aujourd'hui, la sculpturale PH Artichoke a rapidement attiré l'attention avec sa forme organique unique - et sa capacité à donner instantanément une élégance et une ambiance à l'espace. Gardant la source de lumière cachée dans ses couches de feuilles, elle diffuse un éclairage doux et sans éblouissement. La finition en laiton brossé, qui donne à la forme familière une nouvelle expression, épouse l'aspiration contemporaine pour une décoration chaude et discrètement sophistiquée.
 
Matériaux Lamelles en laiton poinçonné découpé au laser. Abat-jour supérieur en acier étiré. Support en acier chromé, finition haute brillance, découpé au laser.
Dimensions Ø48xH49,7cm ou Ø60xH58cm
Source lumineuse Ø48cm 1 x E27
Source lumineuse Ø60cm 1 x E27 – 96W LED 2700K – 96W LED 3000K
Gestion lumière Ø60cm Variateur d'intensité sans fil Bluetooth (portée 20m)
blanc
acier inoxydable
cuivre
acier inoxydable poli

Louis Poulsen

 

PH Artichoke (Pomme de Pin)

 

design Poul Henningsen, 1958

Dessinée il y a près de 50 ans, la "Pomme de Pin" (ou "Artichoke") est considérée comme un chef d'oeuvre du design mondial. Sa structure centrale est constituée de 12 arcs en métal, sur laquelle Poul Henningsen a fixé 72 "pétales" répartis en 12 cercles. Chaque cercle est décalé par rapport au précédant de façon à positionner les pétales de manière alternée : ainsi, on peut observer la suspension sous tous les angles sans jamais voir la source lumineuse, placée au centre de la Pomme de Pin, et n'être jamais ébloui. La PH Artichoke a été  conçue pour un restaurant de Copenhague, appelé le Pavillon Langelinie : les suspensions d'origine y sont toujours suspendues.
 
Dimensions Ø48 x H49,7cm – Ø60 x H58cm – Ø72 x H65cm – Ø84 x H72cm
 
Source lumineuse Ø48cm 1 x E27
Source lumineuse Ø60cm 1 x E27, circuit LED dimable 2700K (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou circuit LED dimable 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Source lumineuse Ø72cm 1 x E27, circuit LED dimable 2700K (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou circuit LED dimable 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Source lumineuse Ø84cm 1 x E27, circuit LED dimable 2700K (96W, 27 lumen/W) ou circuit LED dimable 3000K (96W, 26 lumen/W)
Câblage Les versions LED (Ø60, Ø72, Ø84 cm) sont disponibles en version câblée DALI et sans fil Bluetooth (distance maximale entre driver externe et lampe : 20m).
Finition Cuivre (brossé et verni) – Acier inoxydable (brossé et verni) – Acier inoxydable poli – Blanc (peinture liquide)
Matériaux Lamelles : Cuivre poinçonné, acier inoxydable découpé au laser ou acier poinçonné. Abat-jour supérieur : Acier étiré blanc. Support : Acier chromé, finition haute brillance, découpé au laser. Support : Aluminium étiré et chromé, finition haute brillance.
Poids Min: 4,8 kg Max: 27,8 kg
Classe Indice de protection IP20. Classe électrique I.
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro