Poul Henningsen was born in Copenhagen to the famous Danish actress Agnes Henningsen. He never graduated as an architect, but studied at The Technical School at Frederiksberg, Denmark from 1911-14, and then at Technical College in Copenhagen from 1914-17.
 
He started practicing traditional functionalistic architecture, but over the years his professional interests changed to focus mainly on lighting which is what he is most famous for. He also expanded his field of occupation into areas of writing, becoming a journalist and an author. For a short period at the beginning of WWII, he was the head architect of the Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen. But like many other creative people, he was forced to flee Denmark during the German occupation but soon became a vital part of the Danish colony of artists living in Sweden.
 
His lifelong collaboration with Louis Poulsen Lighting began in 1925 and lasted until his death. To this day, Louis Poulsen Lighting still benefits from his genius. Poul Henningsen was also the first editor of the company magazine “NYT”. The CEO of Louis Poulsen at the time, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, gave the magazine to PH as a gift because he had been terminated from the Danish newspaper he worked for (his opinions were too radical).
 
Poul Henningsen's pioneering work concerning the relations between light structures, shadows, glare, and color reproduction—compared to man’s need for light remains the fondation of the lighting theories still practiced by Louis Poulsen Lighting.

Poul Henningsen

The PH 5 was the result of Henningsen’s tireless mission to create the ultimate glare-free pendant, and features his remarkable three- shade system for mostly downward-directed light. The design eliminates glare, creating an inviting ambience focused, above all, on human comfort.
 
Today, six decades after its first unveiling, Poul Henningsen’s celebrated PH 5 pendant remains Louis Poulsen’s bestselling design: a testament to the revolutionary nature of Henningsen’s work to shape light.
 
The popularity of the original, 50-cm-wide design prompted the creation of a smaller, 30-cm-wide version – the PH 5 Mini – in 2017. Now, in celebration of one of Henningsen’s most iconic design, Louis Poulsen is releasing both versions in commemorative editions that pair copper shades and white tiers.
 
Whether lit or not, the pendant brings timeless elegance to diverse interiors, with the warm, mirror-like copper finish elegantly reflecting its surroundings.
 
Finish Polished copper and white, matt powder coated
Dimensions PH5 Ø50xH26,7cm – 2,5kg Dimensions PH5 Mini Ø30xH16,3cm – 0,9kg
Light source PH5 1 x E27 Light source PH5 Mini 1 x E14

PH 5 Copper & PH5 Mini Copper – 60 Years Anniversary Edition

hues of rose
hues of red
hues of orange
hues of grey
hues of green
hues of blue
new white (bronze struts)
classic white (purple struts)
The PH 5 Mini, with a diameter of 30 cm, is a scaled down version of the iconic PH 5 (50 cm in diameter). Poul Henningsen developed the PH 5 in 1958 in response to constant changes to the shape and size of incandescent bulbs by bulb manufacturers. At the introduction of the PH 5, Poul Henningsen wrote the following: “After 33 years of basically Christian behaviour I have converted to Islam in my relationship to the manufacture of incandescent bulbs. For a generation I have believed that consideration for the consumer and common sense would prevail, but now I have become a fatalist. I have accepted fate, and with Louis Poulsen´s permission I have designed a PH fixture which can be used with any kind of light source, Christmas lights and 100 W metal-filament bulbs. Although a fluorescent tube would be too much to ask in the existing form!”.
 
The PH 5 was introduced as a classic new product, and no one knew at the time that it would eventually become synonymous with the PH light. Irrespective of how the light is installed or the light source used, the PH 5 is and remains completely glare-free. The fixture was christened PH 5 due to the 50 cm diameter of the main shade. Poul Henningsen wanted to improve the colour reproduction characteristics of the light source in the PH 5. Small red and blue shades were therefore inserted to supplement the colour in the part of the spectrum where the eye is least sensitive – the red and blue areas – thereby subduing the light in the middle yellow-green region where the eye is most sensitive.
 
The PH 5 design has been regularly updated as light sources have developed. Like the PH 5, the PH 5 Mini is available in the classic white version, a modern white model and in six colour versions, where the colour is darkest at the top and gradually lightens moving down from shade to shade. The struts are purple on the ‘classic’ model and bronze-coloured on the other seven versions. The reflector ring colour contrasts with the other hues. To celebrate the 60th anniversary of this beloved pendant, Louis Poulsen released the PH 5 and PH 5 Mini in an edition that pairs copper shades and white tiers. The new metallic-and-white combination highlights Henningsen’s shade system design and adds new dynamism to one of his most recognised forms, with the mirror-like copper tiers reflecting their surroundings.
 

Finish  Classic White, New white, hues of blue, green, grey, orange, red or rose. Matt coated.
Light source 1 x E14
Material Spun aluminium
Dimensions Ø30 x H16.3cm
Class Ingress protection IP20. Electric shock protection I w. ground.

Louis Poulsen

 

PH5 Mini pendant

 

design Poul Henningsen, 1958 / 2017

decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Né à Copenhague, Poul Henningsen avait pour mère la célèbre actrice danoise Agnes Henningsen. Il n’a jamais obtenu son diplôme d’architecte, mais a étudié à l’école technique de Frederiksberg (Danemark) de 1911 à 1914, puis au Technical College de Copenhague (1914-1917).
 
Il a commencé à pratiquer l'architecture traditionnelle fonctionnaliste, mais au fil des ans, ses intérêts professionnels ont évolué pour se concentrer principalement sur l'éclairage, qui est ce qui le rend le plus célèbre. Il a également étendu son domaine d’activité à des domaines d’écriture, devenant journaliste et auteur. Pendant une courte période au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a été l’architecte en chef des jardins de Tivoli à Copenhague. Mais comme beaucoup d'autres créatifs, il a été contraint de fuir le Danemark pendant l'occupation allemande, puis est rapidement devenu un élément vital de la colonie danoise d'artistes vivant en Suède.
 
Sa longue collaboration avec Louis Poulsen a commencé en 1925 et a duré jusqu'à sa mort. À ce jour, Louis Poulsen bénéficie toujours de son génie. Poul Henningsen était également le premier rédacteur en chef du magazine d'entreprise «NYT». Le PDG de Louis Poulsen à l’époque, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, a offert le magazine à PH parce qu’il avait été licencié du journal danois pour lequel il travaillait (ses opinions étaient trop radicales).
 
Le travail de pionnier de Poul Henningsen sur les relations entre les structures lumineuses, les ombres, l’éblouissement et la reproduction des couleurs, comparé au besoin de lumière de l’homme, reste le fondement des théories lumineuses encore pratiquées par Louis Poulsen.

Poul Henningsen

Le PH 5 est le fruit l'infatigable quête de Henningsen : créer la suspension ultime qui éclaire sans éblouir, grâce à son remarquable système à trois abat-jours diffusant la lumière vers le bas. Le design élimine les reflets, créant une ambiance relaxante privilégiant le confort humain. Six décennies après son lancement, la PH 5 de Poul Henningsen reste la lampe la plus vendue de Louis Poulsen, signe de la nature révolutionnaire du travail de Henningsen.
 
Du fait de la popularité de la version originale de 50 cm de diamètre, Louis Poulsen a lancé en 2017 une version plus petite, de 30 cm de diamètre, la PH 5 Mini. Pour célébrer les 60 ans du design emblématiques de Henningsen, les deux lampes sont aujourd'hui déclinées en une version commémorative associant les nuances de cuivre et les niveaux de blancs .
 
Qu'elle soit allumés ou non, la suspension apporte une élégance intemporelle à tous les styles d'intérieurs. Dotée d'un effet miroir, la chaleureuse finition en cuivre reflète élégamment son environnement.
 
Finition Cuivre poli et blanc mat
Dimensions PH5 Ø50xH26,7cm – 2,5kg Dimensions PH5 Mini Ø30xH16,3cm – 0,9kg
Source lumineuse PH5 1 x E27 Source lumineuse PH5 Mini 1 x E14

PH 5 Cuivre et PH5 Mini Cuivre – Édition Anniversaire 60 Ans

nuances de rose
nuances de rouge
nuances de orange
nuances de gris
nuances de vert
nuances de bleu
nouveau blanc (attaches bronze)
blanc classique (attaches lilas)
Le modèle PH 5 Mini, avec un diamètre de 30 cm, est une version réduite du célèbre modèle PH 5 (50 cm de diamètre). Si Poul Henningsen a développé la PH 5 en 1958, c’est en réaction aux interminables modifications de la forme et de la taille des ampoules à incandescence introduites par les fabricants. Pour la présentation de la PH 5, il avait écrit les mots suivants : « Après 33 ans d’une relation orthodoxe avec les ampoules à incandescence, je me suis converti à l’islam. Pendant toute une génération, j’ai pensé que la prise en compte du consommateur et du bon sens l’emporterait, mais j’ai dû me rendre à l’évidence et suis devenu fataliste. J’ai accepté mon destin et, avec la permission de Louis Poulsen, j’ai dessiné une suspension PH pouvant utiliser toutes sortes de sources lumineuses, des guirlandes de Noël aux ampoules à filament métallique 100 W, sans toutefois tomber dans l’extrême du tube fluorescent dans sa forme existante ! »
 
La PH 5 avait été lancée comme un nouveau produit banal, et personne ne se doutait qu’elle deviendrait l’archétype des lampes PH. Quels que soient la manière dont la lampe est installée et le type de source lumineuse, la PH 5 est et restera totalement anti-éblouissante. La suspension a été baptisée PH 5 en raison du diamètre de 50 cm de son abat-jour principal. Poul Henningsen souhaitait améliorer les caractéristiques de rendu des couleurs de la source lumineuse dans la PH 5. De petits abat-jour rouges et bleus ont donc été ajoutés pour renforcer les couleurs de la partie du spectre à laquelle les yeux sont le moins sensibles, le rouge et le bleu, et atténuer la zone centrale des jaunes-verts, à laquelle les yeux sont le plus sensibles.
 
La conception de la suspension a régulièrement été remaniée au fur et à mesure que de nouvelles sources lumineuses faisaient leur apparition. Tout comme la PH 5, la PH 5 Mini est disponible dans une version blanc classique, dans un blanc moderne, ainsi qu’en six versions colorées, avec un dégradé du plus sombre au plus clair du haut vers le bas. Les tiges sont violettes sur le modèle classique, et couleur bronze sur les sept autres versions. La couleur du réflecteur contraste avec les autres nuances. Pour célébrer le 60e anniversaire de cette suspension tant appréciée, Louis Poulsen a lancé la PH 5 et la PH 5 Mini dans une édition associant des abat-jour en cuivre à des étages blancs. La nouvelle combinaison métallique et blanche met en évidence le design de l’ensemble abat-jour de Henningsen et apporte du dynamisme à l’une de ses formes les plus reconnues, avec des étages en cuivre de type miroir reflétant l’espace ambiant.
 
Finition Blanc classique, nouveau blanc, teintes de bleu, de vert, de gris, de orange, de rouge ou de rose. Peinture poudre (mate).
Matériaux Aluminium étiré
Dimensions Ø30 x H16.3cm
Source lumineuse  1 x E14
Classe Indice de protection IP20. Classe électrique I

Louis Poulsen

 

suspension PH5 Mini

 

  design Poul Henningsen, 1958 / 2017

décoration 
offres & déstockage 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro