Poul Henningsen was born in Copenhagen to the famous Danish actress Agnes Henningsen. He never graduated as an architect, but studied at The Technical School at Frederiksberg, Denmark from 1911-14, and then at Technical College in Copenhagen from 1914-17.
 
He started practicing traditional functionalistic architecture, but over the years his professional interests changed to focus mainly on lighting which is what he is most famous for. He also expanded his field of occupation into areas of writing, becoming a journalist and an author. For a short period at the beginning of WWII, he was the head architect of the Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen. But like many other creative people, he was forced to flee Denmark during the German occupation but soon became a vital part of the Danish colony of artists living in Sweden.
 
His lifelong collaboration with Louis Poulsen Lighting began in 1925 and lasted until his death. To this day, Louis Poulsen Lighting still benefits from his genius. Poul Henningsen was also the first editor of the company magazine “NYT”. The CEO of Louis Poulsen at the time, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, gave the magazine to PH as a gift because he had been terminated from the Danish newspaper he worked for (his opinions were too radical).
 
Poul Henningsen's pioneering work concerning the relations between light structures, shadows, glare, and color reproduction—compared to man’s need for light remains the fondation of the lighting theories still practiced by Louis Poulsen Lighting.

Poul Henningsen

PH 3 ½-2 ½ Table was designed in 1928 and is one of many development projects undertaken by PH in connection with the development of his world-famous three-shade system. The table lamp is based on PH's original drawings, and comes with the first type of shade holder, with adjustment screws. The top metal shade has a rolled edge, a decorative and stabilising feature that makes the shade appear thicker than the actual material. The two bottom shades are made of mouth-blown opal glass. PH found that this combination utilises the light source more efficiently, directing the light downwards due to the reflection from the white inner surface of the top shade. The frame is brown painted brass giving the lamp the same appearance as the burnished brass lamps of the time – a process that is no longer recommended due to environmental considerations.
 
Dimensions Ø33xH45cm
Finish Red, green, yellow and white, powder coated.
Material Top shade: Spun aluminium. Other shades: Mouth-blown white opal glass. Shade holder: Silk matt brown brass. Stand: Silk matt brown brass.
Mounting Cord type: Plastic with plug. Cord length: 2.5 m. Switch: On the cord.
Weight Min: 2.5 kg Max: 2.6 kg
Light source E14
Class Ingress protection IP20. Electric shock protection II w/o ground.

Louis Poulsen

 


PH 3½-2½ table lamp

 

design Poul Henningsen, 1928

clothes, bags, acces. 
decoration 
clearance & offers 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Né à Copenhague, Poul Henningsen avait pour mère la célèbre actrice danoise Agnes Henningsen. Il n’a jamais obtenu son diplôme d’architecte, mais a étudié à l’école technique de Frederiksberg (Danemark) de 1911 à 1914, puis au Technical College de Copenhague (1914-1917).
 
Il a commencé à pratiquer l'architecture traditionnelle fonctionnaliste, mais au fil des ans, ses intérêts professionnels ont évolué pour se concentrer principalement sur l'éclairage, qui est ce qui le rend le plus célèbre. Il a également étendu son domaine d’activité à des domaines d’écriture, devenant journaliste et auteur. Pendant une courte période au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a été l’architecte en chef des jardins de Tivoli à Copenhague. Mais comme beaucoup d'autres créatifs, il a été contraint de fuir le Danemark pendant l'occupation allemande, puis est rapidement devenu un élément vital de la colonie danoise d'artistes vivant en Suède.
 
Sa longue collaboration avec Louis Poulsen a commencé en 1925 et a duré jusqu'à sa mort. À ce jour, Louis Poulsen bénéficie toujours de son génie. Poul Henningsen était également le premier rédacteur en chef du magazine d'entreprise «NYT». Le PDG de Louis Poulsen à l’époque, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, a offert le magazine à PH parce qu’il avait été licencié du journal danois pour lequel il travaillait (ses opinions étaient trop radicales).
 
Le travail de pionnier de Poul Henningsen sur les relations entre les structures lumineuses, les ombres, l’éblouissement et la reproduction des couleurs, comparé au besoin de lumière de l’homme, reste le fondement des théories lumineuses encore pratiquées par Louis Poulsen.

Poul Henningsen

La lampe de table PH 3 ½-2 ½ a été conçue en 1928 et constitue l’un des nombreux projets de développement entrepris par PH en relation avec le développement de son ensemble de trois abat-jour de réputation mondiale.La lampe de table est basée sur les dessins originaux de PH et est livrée avec le premier type de support d'abat-jour et des vis de réglage. L’abat-jour supérieur en métal possède un rebord roulé, un élément décoratif et stabilisateur qui fait que l’abat-jour semble plus épais que le véritable matériau. Les deux abat-jour inférieurs sont en verre opalisé soufflé. PH a découvert que cette combinaison utilise plus efficacement la source lumineuse, en dirigeant la lumière vers le bas en raison de la réflexion sur la surface intérieure blanche de l’abat-jour supérieur. Le support est en laiton peint de couleur brune qui donne à la lampe le même aspect que les lampes en laiton bruni de l’époque, processus qui n’est plus recommandé en raison de considérations environnementales.
 
Dimensions Ø33xH45cm
Finition Rouge, vert, jaune et blanc, peinture poudre.
Matériaux Abat-jour supérieur : aluminium étiré. Autres abat-jour : verre opalisé blanc, soufflé. Support de l'abat-jour : laiton brun mat et soyeux. Pied : laiton brun mat et soyeux.
Montage Type de cordon : plastique avec prise. Longueur du cordon : 2,5 m. Interrupteur : sur le cordon.
Poids Min: 2,5 kg Max: 2,6 kg
Source lumineuse E14
Classe Indice de protection IP20. Classe électrique II.

Louis Poulsen

 


lampe de table PH 3½-2½

 

design Poul Henningsen, 1928

vêtements, sacs, acces. 
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro