Poul Henningsen was born in Copenhagen to the famous Danish actress Agnes Henningsen. He never graduated as an architect, but studied at The Technical School at Frederiksberg, Denmark from 1911-14, and then at Technical College in Copenhagen from 1914-17.
 
He started practicing traditional functionalistic architecture, but over the years his professional interests changed to focus mainly on lighting which is what he is most famous for. He also expanded his field of occupation into areas of writing, becoming a journalist and an author. For a short period at the beginning of WWII, he was the head architect of the Tivoli Gardens in Copenhagen. But like many other creative people, he was forced to flee Denmark during the German occupation but soon became a vital part of the Danish colony of artists living in Sweden.
 
His lifelong collaboration with Louis Poulsen Lighting began in 1925 and lasted until his death. To this day, Louis Poulsen Lighting still benefits from his genius. Poul Henningsen was also the first editor of the company magazine “NYT”. The CEO of Louis Poulsen at the time, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, gave the magazine to PH as a gift because he had been terminated from the Danish newspaper he worked for (his opinions were too radical).
 
Poul Henningsen's pioneering work concerning the relations between light structures, shadows, glare, and color reproduction—compared to man’s need for light remains the fondation of the lighting theories still practiced by Louis Poulsen Lighting.

Poul Henningsen

PH Hat, designed by Poul Henningsen in 1961, was originally manufactured in two sizes. PH’s aim with P-hat was to design a lamp for bedroom lighting, among other applications. The rose coloured shade interior provides a soft pleasant light. Only the smaller version is available today. P-hat is suitable for foyers, stairways and passageways.
 
Diameter Ø22,5cm
Material Shade: Spun steel. Wall box: Spun steel.
Finish White, wet painted.
Light source 1 x E14
Mounting Cable length: 2.4m. Light control: On wall plate.
Weight 0.8 kg
Class Ingress protection IP20. Electric shock protection II w/o ground.
Note The fixture is tiltable
Louis Poulsen
 

PH Hat wall lamp
 
design Poul Henningsen, 1961
decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Né à Copenhague, Poul Henningsen avait pour mère la célèbre actrice danoise Agnes Henningsen. Il n’a jamais obtenu son diplôme d’architecte, mais a étudié à l’école technique de Frederiksberg (Danemark) de 1911 à 1914, puis au Technical College de Copenhague (1914-1917).
 
Il a commencé à pratiquer l'architecture traditionnelle fonctionnaliste, mais au fil des ans, ses intérêts professionnels ont évolué pour se concentrer principalement sur l'éclairage, qui est ce qui le rend le plus célèbre. Il a également étendu son domaine d’activité à des domaines d’écriture, devenant journaliste et auteur. Pendant une courte période au début de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, il a été l’architecte en chef des jardins de Tivoli à Copenhague. Mais comme beaucoup d'autres créatifs, il a été contraint de fuir le Danemark pendant l'occupation allemande, puis est rapidement devenu un élément vital de la colonie danoise d'artistes vivant en Suède.
 
Sa longue collaboration avec Louis Poulsen a commencé en 1925 et a duré jusqu'à sa mort. À ce jour, Louis Poulsen bénéficie toujours de son génie. Poul Henningsen était également le premier rédacteur en chef du magazine d'entreprise «NYT». Le PDG de Louis Poulsen à l’époque, Sophus Kaastrup-Olsen, a offert le magazine à PH parce qu’il avait été licencié du journal danois pour lequel il travaillait (ses opinions étaient trop radicales).
 
Le travail de pionnier de Poul Henningsen sur les relations entre les structures lumineuses, les ombres, l’éblouissement et la reproduction des couleurs, comparé au besoin de lumière de l’homme, reste le fondement des théories lumineuses encore pratiquées par Louis Poulsen.

Poul Henningsen

La PH Hat, conçue par Poul Henningsen en 1961, a d’abord été produite en deux formats. Pour l’applique PH Hat, le but de Poul Henningsen était de concevoir entre autres une lampe pour la chambre à coucher. La surface intérieure de l’abat-jour de couleur rose produit un éclairage doux et agréable. Seul le petit format est disponible aujourd’hui. La PH Hat est idéale pour les halls d’entrée, les escaliers et les couloirs.
 
Diamètre Ø22,5cm
Finition Blanc, peinture liquide
Matériaux Abat-jour : Acier étiré. Boîte murale : Acier étiré.
Source lumineuse 1 x E14
Montage Longueur du câble : 2,4 m. Interrupteur : sur la plaque murale.
Poids Min: 0,8 kg Max: 0,8 kg
Classe Indice de protection IP44. Classe électrique II.
Note L'abat-jour est inclinable
Louis Poulsen
 

applique PH Hat
 
design Poul Henningsen, 1961
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro