Øivind Slaatto (born 1978) is a promising Danish designer, recognised for his simple and poetic solutions. Nature is Øivind's most important source of inspiration. He also seeks to transfer characteristics such as rationality, logic and harmony to his designs.
 
Øivind has a master's degree from the Danish Design School and studied music prior to this at the Royal Danish Academy of Music. An appreciation for music permeates his approach to the design process. He understands that 'practice makes perfect', and constantly seeks to refine his solutions. In his own words, he wants his designs to be like a piece of music being played – which people experience as simple and light.
 
He has worked with everything from speakers and cars to furniture and light fixtures. Developing lighting solutions is a specialty area and a great passion for Øivind, who has a natural affinity for light and therefore seeks to optimise the experience of light and ambience.

Louis Poulsen

 

Patera pendant

 

design Øivind Slaatto, 2015

 
Øivind Slaatto is fascinated by nature, and this is where he finds his inspiration. Particularly, he is fond of the Fibonacci sequense and other basic mathematical principles – like seen in the sunflower, cauliflower, seashells and the snail. The Fibonacci sequense was also been his inspiration for Patera. “My ultimate goal was to create a three-dimensional Sudoku. It was an extremely mathematical assignment. In fact, it’s the most complex light I have ever made ... I think it has a certain poetry about it, and my aim was to construct a modern crystal chandelier. I hope people will feel inspired to move around it. I hope it generates life.” (Øivind Slaatto)
 
The Patera pendant is a glowing sphere built up of small diamond-shaped cells. Each cell is carefully designed to capture light and to shield the light source from the viewing angles above 45 degrees. Each cell glows. Below 45 degrees, the fields are open to direct light downwards. A small amount of light is also sent upwards to illuminate the ceiling.
 
KEY FEATURES Soft and diffuse lighting combined with downwards directed light, glare free, 360° visible, looks nice from all angles, useable for a great number of applications, large rooms, stairwells etc. great architectural versatility, handmade, 2 light source options.
 

Dimensions Ø45, Ø60, Ø90 cm
Material cut matt PVC, matt-chromed brass
Mounting cable 4 meters (2x1.0mm2). Canopy.
Weight min 0.5 kg, max 12.1 kg
Light source Ø45cm E27 or LED DALI (42W, 2700K or 3000K)
Light source Ø60/90cm E27 or LED DALI (65W, 2700K or 3000K)
Class Ingress protection IP20. Electric shock protection I w. ground (LED), II w/o ground (E27).
decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Øivind Slaatto (né en 1978) est l'un des designers les plus prometteurs du Danemark, reconnu par ses solutions simples et poétiques. Pour Øivind, la nature est la source d'inspiration la plus importante. C'est à partir d'elle qu'il cherche à conférer des propriétés telles que rationalité, logique et harmonie à ses designs.
 
Diplômé de la Haute École de design du Danemark, Øivind a auparavant étudié la musique au Conservatoire Royal du Danemark. Son sens de la musique se retrouve partout dans son approche du processus de création. Sachant à quel point l'exercice et la pratique sont importants, il cherche en permanence à affiner ses solutions. Tels une partition, il souhaite que ses designs puissent être appréciés dans toute leur simplicité.
 
Sa sphère d'activités est très vaste : des haut-parleurs aux voitures en passant par le mobilier et l'éclairage. La conception de solutions d'éclairage est à la fois une spécialité et une passion pour Øivind. D'une grande sensibilité naturelle à la lumière, il cherche à optimiser l'expérience de la lumière et de l'atmosphère qui règne dans une pièce.

Louis Poulsen

 

suspension Patera

 

design Øivind Slaatto, 2015

Øivind Slaatto est fasciné par la nature, dans laquelle il trouve principalement son inspiration. Il s'intéresse tout particulièrement à la suite de Fibonacci et à d'autres principes mathématiques de base, qui se retrouvent dans la nature dans les fleurs de tournesol, le chou-fleur, les coquillages ou encore la coquille d'un escargot. La suite de Fibonacci a été sa source d'inspiration pour le modèle Patera. « Mon objectif final était de créer un Sudoku tridimensionnel. La conception a demandé d'importants calculs mathématiques. C'est d'ailleurs la lampe la plus complexe que j'ai jamais créée... Je trouve qu'elle dégage une certaine poésie et mon but était de créer un lustre en cristal moderne. J'espère que cette lampe inspirera ceux qui vivent avec. J'espère qu'elle sera génératrice de vie. » (Øivind Slaatto)
 
La suspension Patera est une sphère lumineuse composée de petites alvéoles en forme de losange. Les alvéoles ont été soigneusement imaginées pour capturer la lumière et dissimuler la source lumineuse pour tous les angles de vue supérieurs à 45 degrés. Chaque alvéole flamboie ainsi de lumière. En dessous de 45 degrés, les diffuseurs sont ouverts pour diriger la lumière vers le bas. Une faible quantité de lumière est également renvoyée vers le haut, pour éclairer le plafond.
 
PRINCIPALES CARACTÉRISTIQUES Éclairage doux et diffus, dirigé vers le bas, anti-éblouissant, visible à 360°, esthétique sous tous les angles, utilisable dans de nombreux environnements : grandes pièces, cage d'escalier, etc. grande polyvalence architecturale, fait main, deux options de source lumineuse.
 
Dimensions Ø45, Ø60, Ø90 cm
Matériaux PVC dépoli découpé, laiton chromé dépoli
Montage câble 4m (2x1mm2). Cache-piton.
Poids min 0,5 kg, max 12,1 kg
Source lumineuse Ø45cm E27 ou circuit LED intégré (DALI 42W)
Source lumineuse Ø60 et Ø90 cm E27 ou circuit LED intégré (DALI 65W)
Classe Indice de protection IP20. Classe électrique: I (LED), II (E27).
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro