94% new wool, 6% nylon – 31 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
90% new wool, 10% nylon – 18 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
92% wool / 8% nylon – 27 available colours – 60.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% nylon – 27 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% helanca – 47 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% nylon – 28 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
58% wool / 25% viscose / other – 24 available colours – 50.000 Martindale (durability)

upholstery fabrics

100% wool – 27 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
100% wool – 24 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
100% wool  – 56 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% nylon – 50 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% nylon – 37 available colours – 80.000 Martindale (durability)
92% wool / 8% nylon – 49 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
70% wool / 30% viscose – 58 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
Prestige is a full grain leather, soft to touch, with a slight shine. It's a strong yet supple leather.
Despite its upscale appearance, Prestige has an appealing practical side, as well. The protective surface finish makes it durable and entirely smudge-proof.

> Prestige leather – group 1

leathers

As a teenager, Finn Juhl wanted to become an art historian, having a passion for the fine arts since childhood. His father stopped him and Finn Juhl started architectural studies. Later, when his fame as a designer of furniture acquired, he speaks of himself as an autodidact, in reference to this upset vocation that forced him to walk intellectually on a lonely way. His style owes much to this singular trajectory, with its non academic interpretation of art visible in his work. Finn Juhl started his studies in 1930, a key period which saw the birth of modern design and furniture.
 
His modern offices in central Copenhagen was greeting his visitors with a huge Japanese fish in paper, symbol of imagination. And rather than addressing the design of a furniture from an functional angle, in the classical manner, Finn Juhl approached his work in the manner of a sculptor, seeking the beauty of the volume and shape, life and expressiveness, an approach that, in the 1940s and 1950s, was then completely new. For Finn Juhl, it was clear that furniture could not be limited to function, but should also express an artistic sensibility.
Finn Juhl
(1912-1989)
 
 

> Nevada leather – group 2

Nevada is a full-grain, vacuum-tanned, smooth aniline leather. The hide is firm, but supple with an exceptional grain. The best choice when looking for Saddle-type leather. Visible insect bites, healed wounds and fat stripes contribute to the exclusive look.

> Elegance leather – group 4

> Classic leather – group 3

Elegance is an exquisite type of leather of the finest quality European oxhide. It has an exclusive and natural look and is soft and pleasant to the touch. Elegance is aniline leather and is chrome tanned but then subsequently vegetable tanned, which gives the leather greater firmness. This type of leather has a natural and raw surface, allowing the leather to breathe and offers excellent sitting comfort as well as a feeling of exclusivity. The leather is full grain, which means that its natural surface structure has been preserved and all natural markings are visible. Natural markings are the hallmarks of the animal’s active life and give the piece of furniture a unique sense of character. Elegance leather varies in colour from hide to hide and acquires a beautiful, lighter patina with use and exposure to sunlight.
Classic is a durable and very user-friendly type of leather, giving a more uniform look on upholstered furniture. Classic is pigmented and has a strong surface finish, making the leather resilient to dirt and light exposure so that the leather maintains its looks over time. The surface has a slight grain, which means that the natural structure is visible. This gives a very pure expression, almost without visible natural markings.

ready made chairs

customize your chairs
The France Chair can be customized by the choice of fabric or leather. You will find below a preselection of fabrics and leathers particularly suited for this armchair. Do not hesitate to contact us to talk directly of your project. We also have at your disposal a wide collection of fabrics and leathers samples, we will gladly send it you free of charge (against deposit).
> black painted oak + Tonus 244 fabric
> oak + cognac Prestige leather
The France chair was originally put into production in 1956 by the company France & Daverkosen – later named France & Son. During the 50’s the English gentleman  C. W. F. France teamed up with the most promising Danish furniture designers - most prominently Finn Juhl. The designers developed furniture of a very high standard and manufactured these at an industrial scale that could be sold flat-packed. This strategy paved the way for exporting the furniture at a fraction of the usual cost.
  
It became an enormous success. In the middle of the 1950's the company produced 60% of the total Danish furniture export. Danish design became trendsetting in Germany, the UK and not least in the USA, where the term Danish Modern became internationally known – a movement that today has seen great revival. Also the France chair was aimed at the American market where it received considerable success together with a string of other Juhl designs.
  
Today Onecollection is manufacturing the France Chair in Denmark just like the original ones. Since the chair was made for industrial production it has a slightly more simple construction than some of Finn Juhl’s other designs. Nevertheless it is hard to believe that the organic shapes and the amount of details were possible to make at industrial scale at the time it was launched. The chair's upholstered elements, which seem to be floating, as if they were liberated from gravity, make the chair almost aerodynamic. Also the detailed organic shaped armrest is typical Finn Juhl design characteristics. The frame comes in beech, oak or black stain with upholstery in leather or fabric.
 
Dimensions 80x72xH81cm, seat height 38cm.
Wood oak, black painted oak, beech, black painted beech

House of Finn Juhl

(One Collection)

 

France Chair

 

design

Finn Juhl

,1956

decoration 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
clearance & offers 
pro 
need some advice? please write to us!

94% laine nouvelle, 6% nylon – 31 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
90% laine nouvelle, 10% nylon – 18 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
92% laine / 8% nylon – 27 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 60 000
90% laine / 10% nylon – 27 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
90% laine / 10% helanca – 47 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
90% laine / 10% nylon – 28 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
58% laine / 25% viscose / autres – 24 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 50 000

tissus d'ameublement

100% laine – 27 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
100% laine – 24 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
100% laine – 56 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
90% laine / 10% nylon – 50 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
90% laine / 10% nylon – 37 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 80 000
92% laine / 8% nylon – 49 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
70% laine / 30% viscose – 58 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
Le cuir Prestige est un cuir pleine fleur, doux au toucher, brillant. C'est un cuir fort et souple.
Malgré son apparence haut de gamme, Prestige a aussi un côté pratique. La finition de surface protectrice le rend extrêmement durable et anti-tâches.

> cuir Prestige – groupe 1

cuirs

Adolescent, Finn Juhl voulait devenir historien de l'art, après s'être passionné pour les beaux arts depuis l'enfance. Son père l'en empêcha et Finn Juhl entrerpit des études d'architecte. Plus tard, une fois sa renommée de designer de meuble acquise, il parlera de lui-même comme d'un autodidacte, en référence certainement à cette vocation contrariée qui l'obligea à cheminer intellectuellement de manière solitaire. Son style très singulier doit  beaucoup à cette trajectoire non minéaire, avec une interprétation très peu académique de l'art visible dans son travail. Finn Juhl démarra ses études en 1930, une époque clef qui vit la naissance du design et du mobilier moderne.
 
Ses bureaux ultramodernes, au centre de Copenhague, accueillait ses visiteurs avec un immense poisson en papier japonais, symbole de l'imagination. Et plutôt que d'aborder la conception d'un meuble sous un angle fonctionnel, à la manière classique, Finn Juhl abordait son travail à la manière d'un sculpteur, cherchant la beauté du volume et de la forme, la vie et l'expressivité, une approche qui, dans les années 1940 et 1950, était alors totalement inédite. Pour Finn Juhl, il était évident qu'un meuble ne pouvait se limiter à une fonction, mais devait également exprimer une sensibilité artistique.
 
S’il reste mondialement célèbre pour son mobilier, Finn Juhl a aussi réalisé plusieurs projets d’architectures d’intérieure et quelques produits industriels, dont des machines à écrire IBM. Il connut son plus grand succès commercial avec la société Baker, aux Etats-Unis, qui lui permit de produire en grande série plusieurs pièces de mobilier.
 
Finn Juhl a reçu de nombreuses distinctions, notamment 5 médailles d’or au salon du Meuble de Milan en 1954 et en 1957, ainsi que l’American Institute of Design Prize en 1964. En tant qu’architecte, il est connu pour l’aménagement intérieur du Conseil des Nations Unies à New York.
Finn Juhl
(1912-1989)
 
 

> cuir Nevada – groupe 2

Nevada est un cuir souple aniline pleine fleur, tanné sous vide. La peau est ferme, mais dispose d'un grain exceptionnel. Un excellent choix pour ceux qui cherchent un cuir d'aspect très naturel. Des petites marques naturelles – cicatrices, piqûres d'insectes, plis – contribuent à son esthétique haut de gamme. 

> cuir Elegance – groupe 4

> cuir Classic – groupe 3

Elegance est un cuir exquis issu de peaux d’origine européenne de la plus haute qualité. Il a un aspect luxueux et naturel, doux et agréable au toucher. Elegance est un cuir aniline, tanné aux sels de chrome puis aux tanins végétaux, ce qui lui confère une très grande fermeté. Ce type de cuir a une surface naturelle et brute, lui permettant de respirer, ce qui lui procure un excellent confort d’assise et donne une impression de grand luxe. Le cuir est pleine fleur, ce qui signifie que la structure naturelle de la surface a été préservée et que les caractéristiques naturelles sont visibles. Les marques naturelles visibles sont la trace de la vie de l’animal et donnent au meuble un caractère unique. La couleur du cuir Elegance varie selon chaque peau et acquière une belle patine qui s’éclaircit avec l’usage et l’exposition à la lumière.
Classic est un cuir durable et très facile d’usage, qui assure un aspect uniforme aux meubles qui en sont tapissés. Classic est un cuir pigmenté avec une finition opaque qui rend ce cuir résistant aux taches et à la lumière, lui permettant de maintenir son aspect originel au fil du temps. C’est un cuir fine fleur, la structure d'origine reste donc visible, ce qui procure au cuir Classic une expression très naturelle, bien que sans marques visibles.

fauteuils précomposés

personnalisez votre fauteuil
Le fauteuil France peut être personnalisé par du tissu ou du cuir. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une sélection de tissus et cuirs particulièrement adaptés à ce fauteuil. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour parler de vive voix de votre projet. Nous tenons également à votre disposition une large collection d'échantillons de tissus et cuirs, que nous nous ferons un plaisir de vous envoyer gratuitement (contre caution).
> chêne peint en noir + tissu Tonus 244
> chêne + cuir Prestige cognac
Le Fauteuil France (France Chair) a été mis en production en 1956 par la société France & Daverkosen – plus tard appelée France & Son. Pendant les années 50 le gentleman anglais C. W. F. France a fait équipe avec un des designers de meubles danois les plus prometteurs : Finn Juhl. Les designers ont développé des meubles très haut de gamme et les ont fabriqués à l'échelle industrielle. Cette stratégie a permis de développer des emballages plats, et a ouvert la voie à l'exportation des meubles pour une fraction du coût habituel.
 
Ça a été un immense succès. Au milieu des années 1950 la société a produit 60% du total des exportations de meubles danois. Le design danois est devenu avant-gardiste en Allemagne, au Royaume-Uni et aux Etats-Unis, où le terme Danish Modern est devenu connu internationalement. Le fauteuil France Chair était destiné au marché américain où il a reçu un succès considérable avec une série d'autres designs de Finn Juhl.
 
Aujourd’hui, Onecollection fabrique le France Chair au Danemark, comme à l’époque de Finn Juhl. Il est de construction plus simple que d’autres modèles du designer, dû à sa production industrielle. Néanmoins, il est difficile de croire que les formes organiques et la quantité de détails de ce fauteuil étaient réalisables à l'échelle industrielle au moment où il a été lancé. Les éléments rembourrés du France Chair semblent flotter, comme s’ils étaient libérés de la gravité. Ils rendent le fauteuil presque aérodynamique. Aussi, l'accoudoir de forme organique et détaillée est caractéristique de Finn Juhl. Le cadre est disponible en hêtre, chêne ou teinté noir, avec un revêtement en cuir ou en tissu.
 
Dimensions L 80cm x P 72cm x H 81cm – hauteur d'assise 38cm
Bois chêne, chêne peint en noir, hêtre, hêtre peint en noir

House of Finn Juhl

(One Collection)

 

Fauteuil France

 

design

Finn Juhl

,1956

moins cher ailleurs ?
nous vous offrons le même prix -5%
 
> écrivez-nous
décoration 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
offres & déstockage 
pro 
besoin de conseil ? écrivez-nous !