Arne Jacobsen is born on February 11, 1902 in Copenhagen. His father, Johan Jacobsen, is a wholesale trader in safety pins and snap fasteners. His mother, Pouline Jacobsen, a bank clerk, paints floral motifs in her spare time. The family lived in a typical Victorian style home. As a contrast to his parents’ overly decorated taste, Arne paints his room in white.
 
Background & school relations
He met the Lassen brothers at Nærum Boarding School: later, Flemming Lassen was to become his partner in a series of architectural projects. Arne Jacobsen is a restless pupil, always up to pranks, with a self-deprecating humour. Already as a child, he showed an extraordinary talent for drawing and depicting nature through scrupulous studies. He wants to be painter, but his father felt that architect was a more sensible choice.
 
The Pleasant and the necessary trips abroad
Jacobsen’s travelling begin already in his twenties, when he went to sea to New York. Then followed an apprenticeship as a bricklayer in Germany and a series of study and drawing excursions to Italy. Jacobsen produced some of his finest watercolours during this period, capturing atmospheres and shapes accurately and carefully. From the beginning of his career, Jacobsen turned his gaze abroad, without abandoning Danish traditions.
 
Arne Jacobsen behind the design
Jacobsen production reflects his personality: an insistent, perfectionist modernist, to whom no detail was trivial, although the main picture was basically black/white and unambiguous. On the other hand, the nature-loving botanist and jovial family man: like him, his work is precise and warm, Danish and universal, modern and timeless.

Arne Jacobsen

 
 
 
 

> leather strap

> brushed mesh strap

Arne Jacobsen designed a house in the 1930s for H.J. Hansen, manager of Lauritz Knudsen. Hansen saw potential in the young architect and asked if he might be interested in designing a clock. The result was the table clock Station, which was presented at the Charlottenborg Spring exhibition in 1939.

Station

> leather strap

> brushed mesh strap

Arne Jacobsen designed many homes and buildings in the Copenhagen suburb of Rødovre in the 1950s and 1960s. One of his most detailed projects was Rødovre City Hall from 1956. Inspired by international trends in this period, Jacobsen designed every last detail himself and decorated the building with his own line of furniture.

City Hall

> leather strap

> brushed mesh strap

Arne Jacobsen and Erik Møller designed the Aarhus City Hall, which was inaugurated in 1942. Their winning proposal, however, was without a clock tower. According to Jacobsen’s design philosophy, a tower has no real function, and has no place in design. But following public outcry, the two architects added a 60-metre tower featuring an elegant clock that we now call Roman.

Roman

> leather strap

> brushed mesh strap

Arne Jacobsen won the competition to design Denmark’s National Bank in 1961. The building was completed in 1978, seven years after his death. The Bankers Clock hangs in the 20-metre high lobby, which extends like a cathedral through the building’s six floors. The walls are covered in marble, and daylight pours through narrow vertical windows.

Bankers

Arne Jacobsen, born in 1902 is the genius that made Danish design world known. Arne Jacobsen is undoubtedly one of Denmark's most prominent architects and is internationally recognized for his marvelous buildings and design - also including his clocks and watches. Arne Jacobsen's architecture is still admired internationally and many of his products are still being produced.
 
Arne Jacobsen's design caused a stir everywhere and the magic is that it is still does so. Good design is characterized by continuous fascination as time goes by. The clocks and watches have now been recreated entirely faithful to Arne Jacobsen's original drawings. The unique watches were created over a long, incredibly prolific and artistically unique career as an architect and designer. Arne Jacobsen died in 1971.
 
Case: stainless Steel (allergy tested). Lens:Hardened mineral. Accuracy:+/- 0,5 sec. in 24 hours
Size:Ø34mm, Ø40mm, Ø46mm

Copenhagen Watch Group

 

Arne Jacobsen watches

decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Arne Jacobsen née le 11 février 1902 à Copenhague. Son père, Johan Jacobsen, est un négociant en gros d'épingles de sûreté et de boutons-pression. Sa mère, Pouline Jacobsen, commis de banque, aime peindre des fleurs dans son temps libres. La famille vit  dans une maison typiquement victorienne, à la décoration très chargée. Par réaction, le jeune Arne repeint toute sa chambre en blanc.
 
Formation et relations scolaires
Il rencontre les frères Lassen au pensionnat de Nærum. Flemming Lassen deviendra son partenaire dans une série de projets architecturaux. Arne est un élève agité, toujours prêt à faire des farces, se tournant lui-même en dérision. Dès son enfance, il montre un talent extraordinaire de dessinateur et aime représenter la nature de manière très réaliste. Il veut être peintre, mais son père pense que l'architecte est un choix plus judicieux (l'histoire l'en remerciera).
 
Le goût des voyages
Il commence à voyager à 20 ans : une traversée en bateau jusqu'à New York. Puis c'est l'Allemagne pour apprendre la maçonnerie, et l'Italie pour observer l'architecture. Il y produit certaines de ses plus belles aquarelles, rendant atmosphères et matériaux avec délectation. La curiosité pour l’étranger sera une constante de sa carrière, sans abandonner pour autant le Danemark et ses traditions.
 
Arne Jacobsen derrière le design
La personnalité de Jacobsen se reflète dans sa production : moderniste pointu, perfectionniste inlassable, mais aussi amoureux de la nature et père de famille jovial : comme lui, son travail est précis et chaleureux, danois et universel, moderne et atemporel.

Arne Jacobsen

 
 
 
 

> bracelets en cuir

> bracelets en maille

Arne Jacobsen a conçu une maison dans les années 1930 pour H.J. Hansen, manager de Lauritz Knudsen. Hansen a vu le potentiel du jeune architecte et lui a demandé s'il était intéressé par la conception d'une horloge. Le résultat en a été l'horloge de table Station, qui a été présenté à l'exposition Charlottenborg Spring en 1939.

Station

> bracelets en cuir

> bracelets en maille

Arne Jacobsen a conçu de nombreux bâtiments et maisons dans le quartier Rødovre de Copenhague dans les années 1950 et 1960. L'un de ses projets le plus détaillé a été la mairie de Rødovre en 1956. Inspiré par les tendances internationales de l'époque, Jacobsen a conçu chaque petit détail lui-même et a décoré le bâtiment avec sa propre ligne de mobilier.

City Hall

> bracelets en cuir

> bracelets en maille

Arne Jacobsen et Erik Møller ont conçu la mairie de Aarhus, qui a été inaugurée en 1942. Leur proposition était cependant sans clocher. En accord avec la philosophie du design de Jacobsen, une tour n'a pas de réelle fonction, et n'a pas de place dans le design. Mais suite à la levée de boucliers du public, les deux architectes ont ajouté une tour de 60 mètres présentant une élégante horloge aujourd'hui appelée Roman.

Roman

> bracelets en cuir

> bracelets en maille

En 1961, Arne Jacobsen a gagné la compétition pour créer le design de la banque nationale danoise. Le bâtiment fut terminé en 1978, sept ans après sa mort. L'horloge de la banque est accrochée à 20 mètres de haut dans le hall, qui s'étend comme dans une cathédrale sur les six étages du bâtiment. Les murs sont recouverts de marbre, et la lumière du jour passe au travers d'étroites fenêtres verticales.

Bankers

Arne Jacobsen, né en 1902, est le génie qui a rendu le design danois célèbre dans le monde entier. Il est sans aucun doute l'un des architectes les plus éminents du Danemark. Il est également internationalement reconnu pour ses magnifiques bâtiments et designs, incluant également ses horloges et ses montres. L'architecture d'Arne Jacobsen est toujours admirée à l'international et beaucoup de ses produits sont encore produits et commercialisés.
 
Le design d'Arne Jacobsen a provoqué un vif émoi partout où il a été vu et la magie opère toujours de nos jours. Ce beau design est caractérisé par une fascination continue au fil du temps. Les horloges et les montres ont été entièrement recréées avec fidélité à partir des dessins originaux d'Arne Jacobsen. Ces montres uniques ont été créées au cours d'une longue et incroyablement prolifique carrière d'architecte et de designer. Arne Jacobsen est décédé en 1971.
 
Boîtier en métal hypoallergénique, verre minéral, bracelet cuir ou métal. Mécanique japonaise à quartz (+/- 0,5 sec/24h).
Diamètres : Ø34mm, Ø40mm, Ø46mm

Copenhagen Watch Group

 

montres Arne Jacobsen

décoration 
offres & déstockage 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro