Velluto di Cotone velvet – Price group 3
100% cotton
> see the 24 colours
oiled american walnut
oiled oak
black stained oak

wood

 
Gubi leathers – Price group 5
> see Gubi leathers
French designer Marcel Gascoin was one of the leading furniture designers of the post-war era. He played a vital role in the reconstruction of France after World War II, where his streamlined wooden furniture, focused on clean aesthetics and functionality, became the staple for 1950s French households.
 
Gascoin worked as an interior architect and designer with the French Ministry of Reconstruction and Urbanism to design and build homes and the furniture to fill them during the post-war housing crisis in France. Forward-thinking for his time and with a strong social conscience, Gascoin’s democratic design drew lines between art and industry, converging clean aesthetics with rational manufacturing processes.
 
Marcel Gascoin was a member of the UAM (L’Union des Artistes Moderne) alongside important modernist designers Robert Mallet Stevens, Charlotte Perriand, Rene Herbst and Le Corbusier. This was an intellectual movement bound by a philosophy of design that united function with fabrication. In his own workshop, Gascoin passed on his know-how to the following generations of interior decorators, and several of Gascoin’s apprentices like Michel Mortier, Pierre Paulin and Joseph-André Motte went on to distinguished careers as designers in their own right.
 
Today Gascoin’s work, unrecognized for a long time, has been progressively re-discovered by collectors, adoring his simple and striking furniture creations.

Marcel Gascoin (1907-1986)

 

available upholsteries and wood

The C-chair can be made on order with a wide range of fabrics and leather. If you need fabric samples, we will gladly send them freely to you (against deposit). Do not hesitate to contact us to talk directly of your project. Lead-time approx. 3-5 weeks.
 



> discover the available upholsteries
Silk leather – Price group 6
100% anilin leather
> see the 17 colours

leathers

Sunniva 2 – Price group 5
58% wool, 25% viscose, other
> see the 24 colours
Hallingdal 65 – Price group 4
70% wool, 30% viscose
> see the 58 colours
Rime – Price group 3
90% wool, 10% nylon
> see the 27 colours
Canvas – Price group 3
90% wool, 10% nylon
> see the 28 colours
Remix – Price group 2
92% wool, 8% nylon
> see the 49 colours
Hot Madison – Price group 1
63% cotton, 37% linen
> see the 28 colours

fabrics

Solo – Price group 4
61% viscose, 17% cotton, 17% polyester, 5% linen
> see the 5 colours
Sehnsucht – Price group 4
100% polyester
> 2 colours 
Pfauenauge – Price group 4
54% polyester, 34% cotton, 12% polyamid
> see the 5 colours
Korb – Price group 4
66% cotton, 20% polyamid, 14% viscose
> see the 20 colours
Jardin – Price group 4
100% polyester
> see the 10 colours
Act – Price group 4
100% polyester
> see the 10 colours

customize your C-chair

 

ready made C-chair

 
american oiled walnut
oiled oak / Sinequanon 010 fabric (Dedar) 
oiled oak / Sinequanon 009 Acqua fabric (Dedar) 
oiled oak / Sinequanon 008 Linen fabric (Dedar) 
brown-black stained oak / Nubuck 1709 Gubi leather
brown-black stained oak / Sinequanon 030 Ficelle fabric (Dedar) 
brown-black stained oak / Sinequanon 030 Ficelle fabric (Dedar) 

seat and back

french cane

seat upholstered +

back

french cane

american oiled walnut / Chamois 1718 Gubi leather

fully upholstered

One of Marcel Gascoin’s most well-known pieces, the C-Chair Dining Chair, was designed in 1947. The chair represent not only the aesthetic and practical power of Gascoin’s designs, but also the social conscience he strongly demonstrated through the post-war years in France. The C-Chair was originally created out of necessity to fit in to the new sizes of homes build at the end of World War II, where Gascoin made up for the lack of space by creating simple, functional furniture.
 
Cleverly designed with great attention to detail, the C-Chair possesses an elegant shape yet sturdy construction rooted in a simple, minimal and strong design language. Characterised by voluminous and vigorous legs juxtaposed by an inviting seat in lighter material like cane, straw or fabric, the quality of the C-Chair reveals itself through modern lines, sobriety and high-quality wooden workmanship.
 
Dimensions W41 x D53 x H79 cm
Finishes american oiled walnut – black stained oak – brown-black stained oak – oiled oak

Gubi

 

C-chair dining chair

 

design Marcel Gascoin, 1947

decoration 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
clearance & offers 
pro 
need some advice? please write to us!

noyer américain huilé /
cuir Chamois 1718 Gubi  
chêne huilé /
cuir Chamois 1718 Gubi  
chêne teinté marron-noir
chêne huilé
noyer américain huilé
chêne huilé
chêne teinté noir

bois

 
Le designer français Marcel Gascoin fut l'un des principaux designers de meubles de l'après-guerre. Il a joué un rôle essentiel dans la reconstruction de la France après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, où son mobilier en bois profilé, axé sur l'esthétique propre et la fonctionnalité, est devenu la référence de base pour les ménages français des années 1950.
 
Gascoin a travaillé en tant qu'architecte d'intérieur et designer avec le ministère de la Reconstruction et de l'Urbanisme pour concevoir et construire des maisons et des meubles afin de subvenir à la crise du logement d'après-guerre en France. Avant-gardiste pour son époque et avec une forte conscience sociale, le design démocratique de Gascoin a tracé des lignes entre l'art et l'industrie, en faisant converger l'esthétique propre avec des processus de fabrication rationnels.
 
Marcel Gascoin était membre de l'Union des Artistes Moderne aux côtés des grands designers modernistes Robert Mallet Stevens, Charlotte Perriand, René Herbst et Le Corbusier. C'était un mouvement intellectuel lié par une philosophie du design qui unissait la fonction à la fabrication. Dans son propre atelier, Gascoin a transmis son savoir-faire aux générations suivantes de décorateurs d'intérieur, et plusieurs apprentis de Gascoin comme Michel Mortier, Pierre Paulin et Joseph-André Motte ont fait carrière comme concepteurs à part entière.
 
Aujourd'hui, le travail de Gascoin, méconnu depuis longtemps, a été progressivement redécouvert par les collectionneurs, adorant ses créations de meubles simples et saisissantes.

Marcel Gascoin

(1907-1986)

La C-chair peut être faite sur commande dans de nombreux tissus et cuirs, avec un délais de fabrication d'environ 3 à 5 semaines. Nous tenons à votre disposition une large collection d'échantillons (gratuits, contre caution) pour vous aider dans votre choix. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour tout conseil.
cuir Silk – 100% cuir aniline – Groupe de prix 6
> voir les 17 couleurs

cuirs

Sunniva 2 – Groupe de prix 5
58% laine, 25% viscose, autres
> voir les 24 couleurs
Hallingdal 65 – Groupe de prix 4
70% laine, 30% viscose
> voir les 58 couleurs
Rime – Groupe de prix 3
90% laine, 10% nylon
> voir les 27 couleurs
Canvas – Groupe de prix 3
90% laine, 10% nylon
> voir les 28 couleurs
Remix – Groupe de prix 2
92% laine, 8% nylon
> voir les 49 couleurs
Hot Madison – groupe de prix 1
63% coton, 37% lin
> voir les 28 couleurs

tissus

Solo – Groupe de prix 4
61% viscose, 17% coton, 17% polyester, 5% lin
> voir les 5 couleurs
Sehnsucht – Groupe de prix 4
100% polyester
> 2 couleurs 
Pfauenauge – Groupe de prix 4
54% polyester, 34% coton, 12% polyamide
> voir les 5 couleurs
Korb – Groupe de prix 4
66% coton, 20% polyamide, 14% viscose
> voir les 20 couleurs
Jardin – Groupe de prix 4
100% polyester
> voir les 10 couleurs
Act – Groupe de prix 4
100% polyester
> voir les 10 couleurs

personnalisez votre C-chair

 

C-chair pré-composées

 
noyer américain huilé
chêne huilé / tissu Sinequanon 010 (Dedar)
chêne huilé / tissu Sinequanon 009 Acqua (Dedar)
chêne huilé / tissu Sinequanon 008 Linen (Dedar)
chêne teinté marron-noir / cuir Nubuck 1709 Gubi
chêne teinté marron-noir / tissu Sinequanon 030 Ficelle (Dedar)
chêne teinté marron-noir / tissu Sinequanon 030 Ficelle (Dedar)

assise et dossier cannés

assise tapissée + dossier canné

noyer américain huilé / cuir Chamois 1718 Gubi  

entièrement tapissée

La C-chair, dessinée en 1947, est une des pièces les plus connues de Marcel Gascoin. Elle est le fruit de son talent mais aussi des contraintes économiques de l'immédiat après-guerre, quand il fallait reconstruire et que l'espace manquait. Quoique compacte – elle a été conçue pour des petits appartements urbains – la C-chair est très confortable. Sa forte personnalité vient en grande partie de ses deux jambes arrières, généreusement proportionnées pour tenir compte du fait qu'elle porte l'essentiel du poids.
 
Marcel Gascoin apportait un grand soin aux détails de construction, que l'on retrouve dans les techniques d'ébénisterie utilisées pour la C-chair. La structure est disponible en chêne huilé, chêne teinté noir, chêne teinté marron-noir et en noyer américain huilé. L'assise et le dossier existent en versions cannage et rembourrée : la vaste gamme de tissu et du cuir permet d'adapter la chaise aux espaces privés et publics.
 
Dimensions L41 x P53 x H79 cm
Finitions noyer américain huilé – chêne teinté noir – chêne teinté marron-noir – chêne huilé

Gubi

 

chaise C-chair

 

design Marcel Gascoin, 1947

offres & déstockage 
décoration 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro 
besoin de conseil ? écrivez-nous !