Greta Magnusson maintained a prolific forty-year career on two continents: Europe and North America and operated as mover and shaker in the male dominated world of mid-century modern design. Her achievements were many and encompassed industrial design, interior design and architecture. In 1933, having successfully completed her fellowship at the renowned Stockholm arts institution, Konstfack, she opened Studio, a combined store and workshop in Stockholm. During the same year Greta Magnusson married jazz musician, Billy Grossman with whom she later emigrated to the United States, settling in Los Angeles.
 
Upon their arrival in California in 1940, Greta M. Grossman opened a well publicized shop on Rodeo Drive, where she was among the first to bring the Scandinavian modern aesthetic to southern California's burgeoning modernist scene. Her unique approach to Swedish modernism was an instant hit in Los Angeles and soon she attracted celebrity clients, including Greta Garbo, Ingrid Bergman, Joan Fontaine, Gracie Allen, Frank Sinatra and it was not long before she began appearing alongside the likes of Charles Eames and Isamu Noguchi.
 
While Greta M. Grossman is the architect behind more than 15 homes spanning the globe from California to Sweden, she is most noted for her industrial designs where the Gräshoppa Floor Lamp and Cobra Table Lamp belongs to the most famous works.
 
Through the 1940's and 50's Greta M. Grossman exhibited her designs at museums worldwide, including MoMA in New York and The National Museum in Stockholm.

Greta Magnusson Grossman (1906-1999)

Gubi

 

Grasshopper floor lamp (Gräshoppa)

 

design Greta Magnusson Grossman, 1947

The Grasshopper floor lamp have been designed by Greta Magnusson in 1947 and has been reissued in 2011. Its signature appearance is based on backwards-tilted tripod base and the simplistic shape of the shade.
 
Colours andorra red, anthracite grey, aspen yellow, blue grey, jet black, matt white (with black or white cord), oyster white, vintage red, warm grey
Dimensions H125,5 x W43,5 cm
Material powder-coated aluminium, steel
decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

Greta Magnusson a poursuivi une carrière prolifique de quarante ans sur deux continents: l’Europe et l’Amérique du Nord et a agi comme élément moteur dans le monde du design moderne du milieu du siècle, dominé par les hommes. Ses réalisations sont nombreuses et englobent le design industriel, le design d'intérieur et l'architecture. En 1933, après avoir terminé ses études à Konstfack, célèbre institution artistique de Stockholm, elle ouvre Studio, un magasin et un atelier combinés à Stockholm. Au cours de la même année, Greta Magnussen a épousé le musicien de jazz Billy Grossman avec lequel elle a plus tard émigré aux États-Unis et s’est installée à Los Angeles.
 
À leur arrivée en Californie en 1940, Greta M. Grossman a ouvert une boutique très médiatisée sur Rodeo Drive, où elle a été parmi les premières à apporter l’esthétique moderne scandinave à la scène moderniste naissante de la Californie du Sud. Son approche unique du modernisme suédois a connu un succès instantané à Los Angeles et elle a rapidement attiré des clients célèbres, dont Greta Garbo, Ingrid Bergman, Joan Fontaine, Gracie Allen, Frank Sinatra et Isamu Noguchi.
 
Alors que Greta M. Grossman est l’architecte de plus de 15 maisons à travers le monde, de la Californie à la Suède, elle est surtout connue pour son mobilier et ses luminaires designs.
 
Au cours des années 1940 et 1950, Greta M. Grossman exposa ses créations dans des musées du monde entier, notamment au MoMA de New York et au National Museum de Stockholm.

Greta Magnusson Grossman (1906-1999)

Gubi

 

lampadaire Grasshopper (Gräshoppa)

 

design Greta Magnusson Grossman, 1947

La lampe Grasshopper a été dessiné par Greta Magnusson en 1947 et réédité en 2011 par le danois Gubi. Sa silhouette unique est immédiatement reconnaissable, avec son trépied et sa tige inclinée en arrière s'achevant sur une tête articulée. 
 
Coloris rouge andorre, gris anthracite, jaune aspen, bleu gris, noir jet, blanc mat (avec câble noir ou blanc), blanc oyster, rouge vintage et gris chaud
Dimensions H25,5 x L43,5 cm
Matériel aluminium thermolaqué et acier
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro