see also

4 small teaspoons

Koppel’s designs tempers the strict rules of functionalism with organic, lifelike shapes. His mission was to make everyday life products beautiful as well as practical. He was trained as a sculptor and began collaborating with Georg Jensen in 1946.
Henning Koppel showed an early talent for art, leading him to train in both drawing and aquarelle early on. He continued studies in sculpture at the Royal Danish Academy and later in Paris. His superb drafting skills, developed as a child, helped him in to produce outstanding product renderings of his designs. Even on their own, they form an exceptional body of work.
Like many Danish Jews, Koppel fled to Sweden during the Second World War. At 27, he returned and began working at Georg Jensen. His first works – a series of necklaces and linked bracelets resembling whale vertebrae and microscopic organisms - were small masterpieces in imaginative modelling. Henning Koppel was in every way groundbreaking and his jewellery was unlike anything ever created at the silver smithy in its first 40 years.
When Henning Koppel died in 1981, aged 63, he had created an astonishing range of work: from stainless steel cutlery such as “New York” which found its way into the homes of millions, to magnificent one-off signature pieces such as the silver and crystal chandelier he designed to celebrate the 75-year anniversary of Georg Jensen in 1979.
During his life, he won many awards including the Milan Triennial, the International Design Award and the Lunning Prize. Accolades are important, but what means even more is that people still choose to wear a watch by Henning Koppel or to serve coffee from one of his pots. The integrity and appeal of his designs remain vital and undiminished.

Henning Koppel

4 pcs

(1 / 1 / 1 / 1)

The Caravel cutlery pattern was first designed in sterling silver and introduced in 1957 by Henning Koppel. The pattern was praised for its brilliant functionalist expression and style. In 1986 the pattern was launched in stainless steel making the contemporary design available for connoisseurs and gastronomy enthusiasts. As a celebration of 100 years of design collaboration with Henning Koppel the pattern is re-launched with a black PVD coating in 2018.
 
Materials Black PVD coated stainless steel

Georg Jensen

 

Caravel cutlery

 

design Henning Koppel, 1957 / 2018

decoration 
clearance & offers 
clothes, bags, acces. 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

voir aussi

boîtes cadeau de 4 petites cuillères

Les designs de Koppel tempèrent les règles strictes du fonctionnalisme avec des formes organiques et réalistes. Sa mission était de rendre les produits de la vie quotidienne aussi beaux que pratiques. Il a été formé comme sculpteur et a commencé à collaborer avec Georg Jensen en 1946.
Henning Koppel a montré un talent précoce pour l'art, ce qui l'a amené à s'entraîner au dessin et à l'aquarelle dès le début. Il poursuit ses études en sculpture à la Royal Danish Academy puis à Paris. Ses excellentes compétences en dessin, développées dans son enfance, l'ont aidé à produire des rendus de produits exceptionnels. Même à eux seuls, ils forment un corpus exceptionnel.
Comme beaucoup de juifs danois, Koppel a fui en Suède pendant la seconde guerre mondiale. À 27 ans, il revient et commence à travailler chez Georg Jensen. Ses premières œuvres - une série de colliers et de bracelets liés ressemblant à des vertèbres de baleine et à des organismes microscopiques - étaient de petits chefs-d’œuvre dans la modélisation imaginative. Henning Koppel était à tous égards révolutionnaire et ses bijoux ne ressemblaient à rien de ce qui avait été créé en argenterie au cours de ses 40 premières années.
À la mort de Henning Koppel, en 1981, à l’âge de 63 ans, il avait créé une gamme étonnante de travaux, des couverts en acier inoxydable tels que «New York» au lustre en cristal conçu pour célébrer les 75 ans de Georg Jensen en 1979.
Au cours de sa vie, il a remporté de nombreux prix, dont la triennale de Milan, le prix international du design et le prix Lunning. L'attrait exercé par ses conceptions reste entier.

Henning Koppel

boîtes cadeau de 4 pièces

(1 / 1 / 1 / 1)

Les couverts Caravel ont été conçus en 1957 par Henning Koppel. Fabriqués en argent sterling, ils ont salués pour leur expressivité et leur style fonctionnaliste brillant. En 1986, la collection a été déclinée en acier inoxydable, la rendant plus accessible aux adeptes du design et aux amateurs de gastronomie. Pour célébrer les 100 ans de la collaboration de Georg Jensen et Henning Koppel, la collection a été réédité en acier inoxydable noir en 2018.
 
Matériaux acier inoxydable noir

Georg Jensen

 

couverts Caravel

 

design Henning Koppel, 1957 / 2018

décoration 
offres & déstockage 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
luminaires 
mobilier 
pro