85% wool / 15% polyamide – 25 available colours – 200.000 Martindale (durability)
Arne Jacobsen is born on February 11, 1902 in Copenhagen. His father, Johan Jacobsen, is a wholesale trader in safety pins and snap fasteners. His mother, Pouline Jacobsen, a bank clerk, paints floral motifs in her spare time. The family lived in a typical Victorian style home. As a contrast to his parents’ overly decorated taste, Arne paints his room in white.
 
Background & school relations
He met the Lassen brothers at Nærum Boarding School: later, Flemming Lassen was to become his partner in a series of architectural projects. Arne Jacobsen is a restless pupil, always up to pranks, with a self-deprecating humour. Already as a child, he showed an extraordinary talent for drawing and depicting nature through scrupulous studies. He wants to be painter, but his father felt that architect was a more sensible choice.
 
The Pleasant and the necessary trips abroad
Jacobsen’s travelling begin already in his twenties, when he went to sea to New York. Then followed an apprenticeship as a bricklayer in Germany and a series of study and drawing excursions to Italy. Jacobsen produced some of his finest watercolours during this period, capturing atmospheres and shapes accurately and carefully. From the beginning of his career, Jacobsen turned his gaze abroad, without abandoning Danish traditions.
 
Arne Jacobsen behind the design
Jacobsen production reflects his personality: an insistent, perfectionist modernist, to whom no detail was trivial, although the main picture was basically black/white and unambiguous. On the other hand, the nature-loving botanist and jovial family man: like him, his work is precise and warm, Danish and universal, modern and timeless.

Arne Jacobsen

The original version of the Oxford chair has been drawn by Arne Jacobsen for St Catherine school professors in Oxford, in the United Kingdom. The high chair back symbolized prestige while creating a protected space, favorable to work.
 
The « Professor chair » was renamed Oxford chair and declined in several versions – with adjustable or fixed height, with or without castors, low or medium back.
 
Classic version Classic version has a thiner upholstery and no stitching lines.
Premium version The Premium version is characterized by an extra 3-layer foam upholstery for an extra comfort and horizontal stitchings lines. 
 
Fixed height base Satin polished aluminium or mirror chrome. 5 star swivel. W62 x D57 x H90 cm – seat height 50 cm + spring function
Adjustable height base Satin polished aluminium or mirror chrome. 5 star, tilt mechanism and castors with aluminium caps. W62 x D57 x H90/103 cm – adjustable seat height 45/58 cm
Shell laminated moulded sliced veneer + foam. Upholstery available in a wide range of fabrics and leather.
Classic version has a thiner upholstery and no stitching lines. The ready-made version are upholstered with black or cognac Soft leather.
The Oxford Premium is characterized by a 3-layer foam upholstery that makes it particularly comfortable, and horizontal stitchings lines that highlight the design. The ready-made versions are upholstered with Rime fabric, a wool fabric with a 100 000 Martindale, and black or brown black Soft leather. You can use the free sample module to help you choosing the colour.
90% wool / 10% nylon – 50 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% nylon – 37 available colours – 80.000 Martindale (durability)
> discover the 5 Classic colours
Soft is a very smooth and soft type of leather, combining a natural look with durability and user-friendliness. This type of leather comes from European hides and is semi-aniline. The leather is full grain, which means that its natural surface structure has been preserved. Soft has been treated with a light finish, making it durable and very user-friendly with excellent sitting comfort. This type of leather has the added advantage of being colourfast.
90% wool / 10% nylon – 28 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
92% wool / 8% nylon – 49 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
 

ready made Oxford Premium

 

customize your low back Oxford

 
Click on View to select your options.
Click on View to select your options.
Click on View to select your options.

black or brown Soft leather –

European rawhide. Chrome-tanned. Water-based Aniline dye.

The low back Oxford chair can be made on order with a wide range of fabrics or leathers. If you need fabric samples, we will gladly send them freely to you (against deposit). Do not hesitate to contact us to talk directly of your project.
92% wool / 8% nylon – 27 available colours – 60.000 Martindale (durability)
90% wool / 10% helanca – 47 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)
58% wool / 25% viscose / other – 24 available colours – 50.000 Martindale (durability)
100% wool – 27 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
100% wool – 24 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
100% wool  – 56 available colours – 45.000 Martindale (durability)
70% wool / 30% viscose – 58 available colours – 100.000 Martindale (durability)

> other Rime colours:

Rime – 911
Rime – 641
Rime – 621
Rime – 921
Rime – 721
Rime 781 fabric
Rime 551 fabric
Rime 741 fabric
Rime 691 fabric

ready made Oxford Classic

Rime fabric (Kvadrat)

100 000 Martindale

Fritz Hansen

 

Oxford chair with low back

 

design Arne Jacobsen, 1965

clothes, bags, acces. 
decoration 
clearance & offers 
lighting 
furniture 
pro

85% laine / 15% polyamide – 25 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 200 000
Arne Jacobsen née le 11 février 1902 à Copenhague. Son père, Johan Jacobsen, est un négociant en gros d'épingles de sûreté et de boutons-pression. Sa mère, Pouline Jacobsen, commis de banque, aime peindre des fleurs dans son temps libres. La famille vit  dans une maison typiquement victorienne, à la décoration très chargée. Par réaction, le jeune Arne repeint toute sa chambre en blanc.
 
Formation et relations scolaires
Il rencontre les frères Lassen au pensionnat de Nærum. Flemming Lassen deviendra son partenaire dans une série de projets architecturaux. Arne est un élève agité, toujours prêt à faire des farces, se tournant lui-même en dérision. Dès son enfance, il montre un talent extraordinaire de dessinateur et aime représenter la nature de manière très réaliste. Il veut être peintre, mais son père pense que l'architecte est un choix plus judicieux (l'histoire l'en remerciera).
 
Le goût des voyages
Il commence à voyager à 20 ans : une traversée en bateau jusqu'à New York. Puis c'est l'Allemagne pour apprendre la maçonnerie, et l'Italie pour observer l'architecture. Il y produit certaines de ses plus belles aquarelles, rendant atmosphères et matériaux avec délectation. La curiosité pour l’étranger sera une constante de sa carrière, sans abandonner pour autant le Danemark et ses traditions.
 
Arne Jacobsen derrière le design
La personnalité de Jacobsen se reflète dans sa production : moderniste pointu, perfectionniste inlassable, mais aussi amoureux de la nature et père de famille jovial : comme lui, son travail est précis et chaleureux, danois et universel, moderne et atemporel.

Arne Jacobsen

La version originelle du fauteuil Oxford a été dessinée par Arne Jacobsen pour les professeurs du collège St Catherine à Oxford, au Royaume-Uni. Le haut dossier symbolisait le prestige tout en créant un espace protégé, propice au travail.
 
La « chaise du professeur » a par la suite été rebaptisée Oxford chair et déclinée en plusieurs versions – avec pied réglable en hauteur ou hauteur fixe, avec ou sans roulettes, dossier bas ou medium.
 
Version Classic La version Classic a un rembourrage fin et n'a pas de coutures.
Version Premium La version Premium se caractérise par un rembourrage renforcé triple épaisseur très confortable et des coutures horizontales.
Piètement hauteur fixe Aluminium poli satiné ou chromé effet miroir. Pied étoile à 5 branches pivotant. L62 x P57 x H90 cm – hauteur d'assise 50 cm + fonction amortisseur.
Piètement hauteur ajustable Aluminium poli satiné ou chromé effet miroir. 5 branches, avec roulettes doubles protégées par des capots aluminium et un  mécanisme de bascule. L62 x P57 x H90/103 cm – hauteur d'assise ajustable 45/58 cm
Coque bois de placage thermo formé, recouvert de mousse. Revêtement disponible dans une large gamme de tissus et de cuirs.
La version Classic a un rembourrage fin et n'a pas de coutures. Les versions pré-composées sont revêtues d'un cuir noir ou cognac Soft.
Le fauteuil Oxford Premium se caractérise par un rembourrage renforcé triple épaisseur qui le rend particulièrement confortable et un subtil motif de lignes horizontales qui accentue son design. Les versions pré-composées sont revêtues d'un tissu Rime, en laine et avec une durabilité de 100 000 Martindale, et d'un cuir noir ou brun noir Soft. Vous pouvez utiliser le module d'échantillons gratuit pour vous aider à choisir votre couleur de revêtement.
90% laine / 10% nylon – 50 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
90% laine / 10% nylon – 37 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 80 000
> voir les 5 couleurs Soft
Soft est un type de cuir très lisse et doux, combinant un aspect naturel à la durabilité et à la convivialité. Ce type de cuir provient de peaux européennes et est semi-aniline. Le cuir est de pleine fleur, ce qui signifie que sa structure naturelle de surface a été préservée. Le cuir Soft a été traité avec une légère couche de finition, ce qui le rend durable et convivial avec un excellent confort d'assise. Ce type de cuir présente l'avantage supplémentaire d'être teint.
90% laine / 10% nylon – 28 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
92% laine / 8% nylon – 49 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
 

Oxford Premium pré-composés

 

personnalisez votre Oxford avec dossier bas

 
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir vos options.
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir vos options.
Cliquez sur Voir pour choisir vos options.

cuir Soft noir ou brun noir –

Cuir brut européen. Tannage chrome. Séchage aniline à l'eau.

Le fauteuil Oxford avec dossier bas peut être fait sur commande dans de nombreux tissus et cuirs. Nous tenons à votre disposition une large collection d'échantillons (gratuits, contre caution) pour vous aider dans votre choix. N'hésitez pas à nous contacter pour tout conseil.
92% laine / 8% nylon – 27 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 60 000
90% laine / 10% helanca – 47 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000
58% laine / 25% viscose / autres – 24 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 50 000
100% laine – 27 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
100% laine – 24 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
100% laine – 56 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 45 000
70% laine / 30% viscose – 58 couleurs disponibles – Martindale (résistance à l'abrasion) 100 000

> autres couleurs Rime :

Rime – 911
Rime – 641
Rime – 621
Rime – 921
Rime – 721
tissu Rime 781
tissu Rime 551
tissu Rime 741
tissu Rime 691

Oxford Classic pré-composés

tissu Rime (Kvadrat) –

Martindale 100 000

Fritz Hansen

 

Fauteuil Oxford avec dossier bas

 

design Arne Jacobsen, 1965

mobilier 
vêtements, sacs, acces. 
décoration 
offres & déstockage 
luminaires 
pro