15% OFF on almost everything with code SUMMER15

Sammode Studio

Sammode is a French company founded in 1927 in Châtillon-sur Saône, in the Vosges. Both designer and manufacturer, combining craftsmanship and industry, Sammode continues to manufacture its luminaires there, without resorting to subcontracting, which allows them to ensure their perfect quality.

First generalist, Sammode turned to industrial lighting in the 1930s, equipping coal mines and railway sites. The first « Fluorescent Hermetic Tubes" intended for extreme environments are born at the end of the 1950s: they are the famous "TFH" which equip today refineries, oil platforms, aeronautical assembly lines and nuclear power plants.

In the 1990s, this technicality was put to the service of architecture. Sammode provided, in particular, the lights of the National Library of France designed by Dominique Perrault, architect with whom began a long and fruitful collaboration.

Other artistic collaborations followed (Normal Studio, Yann Kersalé), leading to the opening of Sammode Studio, a branch dedicated to decorative lighting. The meeting with the descendants of Pierre Guariche (1926–1995), one of the greatest French interior designer, allowed the ambitious reissue of his most emblematic lighting fixtures.

Simone de Beauvoir walking bridge, Paris (Dietmar Feichtinger architect) 

Pierre Guariche collection 

G13 wall lamp, ceiling lamp

design Pierre Guariche, 1952

Sammode Studio

G1 floor lamp, wall lamp , pendant lamp

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

Sammode Studio

G25, wall & pendant lamps

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

Sammode Studio

Tubes

(coming soon)

Pierre Guariche

Son of Parisian goldsmiths, Pierre Guariche (1926–1995) was just 19 when he first attended the capital’s École Nationale Supérieure des Arts Décoratifs as a student of Interior Architecture. One of his lecturers there was to shape his practice profoundly: René Gabriel was one of the forerunners of industrial design and committed evangelist for mass production. Another key influence was Marcel Gascoin, the designer who embraced and promoted the principles of social rationalism, whose studio the young Guariche joined in 1949 after graduating. He would spend two years there before opening his own design agency in 1951. His central commitment was to the design of modern, rational furniture and lighting that could be mass produced using new industrial processes to make them affordable to as many people as possible. A laudable challenge!

In the beginning, Pierre Guariche had no choice but to have his designs manufactured in very small quantities, which he sold from his apartment. To raise his profile, he had no hesitation in exhibiting his work, not only in France at the Salon des Artistes Décorateurs and Salon des Arts Ménagers, but also abroad at prestigious events such as the Milan Triennale. The work was well received by the public, and manufacturers began to take an interest in him. In Paris, the M.A.I. Gallery, which had already promoted the work of Alvar Aalto, Max Bill and Charlotte Perriand, accepted his work and produced a few pieces. Guariche’s goal was clear: to work for the best manufacturers of the time, or at least those open to new forms and innovation. Airborne and Les Huchers-Minvielle were followed later by Meubles TV and Meurop in manufacturing his furniture, Steiner his chairs and Disderot his lighting.

The orders flowed in. Committed to the idea that there is strength in unity, Pierre Guariche brought in two previous colleagues from the Gascoin studi—Michel Mortier and Joseph-André Motte—to work alongside him. Together, they founded the Atelier de Recherche Plastique (ARP). The association was to be short lived (1954–1957), but decisive, because it asserted a necessary change in furniture and lighting in terms not only of its design, but also of its fabrication and distribution. The triumvirate saw it as the only way to achieve true modernity.

Pierre Guariche led from the front in terms of design and interior architecture. This was a man who championed experimentation and was always more than ready to use new materials. The Tonneau chair designed for Steiner in 1952 was the first moulded plywood chair to be marketed in France. Produced in 1963 by Les Huchers-Minvielle, his famous Vallée blanche lounge chair was lauded for its inventiveness, and deemed of equal merit as the Charlotte Perriand/Le Corbusier/Pierre Jeanneret Chaise Longue.

In the 1960s and 70s, Guariche turned his focus more towards interior architecture. He designed and furnished a myriad of offices— for EDF in Compiègne for instance —, headquarters buildings —including for Sonacotra in Paris — and public buildings, such as the hospital in Firminy and the Maison de la Culture designed and built by no less a name than . . . Le Corbusier.

On another tack entirely, Pierre Guariche contributed to the development of high-profile tourist resorts on the coast and in the mountains. He designed the interiors for the Résidence Athéna apartments on the beach in Bandol, while in the mountains it was a restaurant and disco at Isola 2000, and a vast programme of developments for La Plagne, including accommodation, two hotels, a chapel, a bank, a pharmacy, cinemas and shopping centres. This inveterate skier would even go on to design the gondolas for the cable car.

In Évry, near Paris, Guariche designed the interiors for the law courts and the Préfecture for the department of Essonne. Permanently at the cutting-edge of innovation, some of his chairs were designed with input from a newly created experimental facility: the Atelier de Recherche et de Création (ARC) at the Mobilier National, the National service agency responsible for furnishing the most prestigious offices of state. In 1965, Pierre Guariche was awarded the René-Gabriel Prize that rewards “designers of innovative, democratic and affordable furniture of high quality”; the ultimate recognition of his role in the history of modern mass-produced furniture and lighting.

Sammode Studio

Sammode est une entreprise française fondée en 1927 à Châtillon-sur Saône, dans les Vosges. À la fois concepteur et fabriquant, mêlant artisanat et industrie, Sammode continue d’y fabriquer ses luminaires, sans recours à la sous-traitance, ce qui permet de leur assurer une qualité parfaite.

D’abord généraliste, Sammode se tourne vers l’éclairage industriel dans les années 1930, équipant mines de charbon et sites ferroviaires. Les premiers « tubes fluorescents hermétiques » destinés aux lieux extrêmes naissent à la fin des années 1950 : ce sont les fameux « TFH » qui équipent aujourd’hui raffineries, plateformes pétrolières, chaînes d’assemblage aéronautiques et centrales nucléaires. 

Dans les années 1990, cette technicité se met au service de l’architecture. Sammode livre, en particulier, les luminaires de la Bibliothèque nationale de France conçue par Dominique Perrault, architecte avec lequel elle entame une longue et fructueuse collaboration. 

D’autres collaborations artistiques suivirent (Normal Studio, Yann Kersalé), conduisant à l’ouverture de Sammode Studio, branche dédiée à l’éclairage décoratif. La rencontre avec les descendants de Pierre Guariche (1926–1995), l’un des plus grands designer et architecte d’intérieur français, a permit la réédition ambitieuse de ses luminaires les plus emblématiques.

passerelle Simone de Beauvoir, Paris (architecte Dietmar Feichtinger) 

collection Pierre Guariche

G13, applique et plafonnier 

design Pierre Guariche, 1952

Sammode Studio

G25, applique et plafonnier

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

Sammode Studio

G1, lampadaire, applique et suspension

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

Sammode Studio

Les Tubes

(prochainement)

Pierre Guariche

Fils d’orfèvres parisiens, Pierre Guariche (1926–1995) entre, à 19 ans, à l’École nationale supérieure des arts décoratifs de Paris, section Architecture intérieure. Un enseignant le marque profondément : René Gabriel, l’un des précurseurs du design industriel et fieffé promoteur de la fabrication en série. Tout comme, dans une autre mesure, Marcel Gascoin, divulgateur du rationalisme chez qui le jeune homme file d’ailleurs travailler, en 1949, sitôt son diplôme en poche. Guariche y passera deux ans avant d’ouvrir, en 1951, sa propre agence. Son credo : concevoir du mobilier et des luminaires modernes rationnels dans l’optique de les produire en série grâce à des procédés industriels nouveaux, afin de les rendre abordables pour le plus grand nombre. Louable défi !

Au début, Pierre Guariche est obligé de faire fabriquer ses modèles en très petites quantités, qu’il vend même « en appartement ». Pour se faire connaître, il n’hésite pas à exposer sa production tant en France — Salon des artistes décorateurs, Salon des arts ménagers —, qu’à l’étranger — Triennale de Milan —. L’accueil du public est favorable et les éditeurs commencent à s’intéresser à lui. À Paris, la Galerie M.A.I., qui vante déjà les créations d’Alvar Aalto, Max Bill ou Charlotte Perriand, repère son travail et édite quelques pièces. L’objectif de Guariche est clair : œuvrer pour les meilleures entreprises de l’époque, du moins celles ouvertes aux formes nouvelles et à l’innovation. Airborne et Les Huchers-Minvielle, plus tard Meubles TV ou Meurop, fabriqueront les meubles, Steiner les sièges et Disderot les luminaires.

Les commandes affluent. L’union faisant la force, Pierre Guariche appelle à la rescousse deux confrères passés eux aussi par l’atelier Gascoin, Michel Mortier et Joseph-André Motte, afin d’œuvrer de concert. Ils fondent alors l’Atelier de recherche plastique (ARP). L’association sera brève — 1954–1957 —, mais décisive, car elle revendique une nécessaire évolution du mobilier et des luminaires, du point de vue de leur conception, de leur fabrication et de leur distribution. Seule manière, selon le triumvirat, d’accéder à une réelle modernité.

Pierre Guariche mène de front deux activités : d’une part, le design ; de l’autre, l’architecture intérieure. L’homme est un as de l’expérimentation, toujours prompt à employer des matériaux nouveaux. La chaise Tonneau qu’il signa pour Steiner, en 1952, fut la première assise en contreplaqué moulé commercialisée en France. Édité en 1963 par Les Huchers-Minvielle, son fameux siège de repos Vallée blanche, lui, sera salué pour son inventivité, à l’égal de la Chaise longue du trio Charlotte Perriand/Le Corbusier/ Pierre Jeanneret.

Dans les années 1960–1970, Guariche va davantage se consacrer à l’architecture intérieure. Il aménage une myriade de bureaux — tels ceux d’EDF, à Compiègne –, de sièges sociaux — dont celui de la Sonacotra, à Paris — et autres bâtiments publics, comme, à Firminy (42), l’hôpital ou la Maison de la culture, construite par un certain... Le Corbusier.

Dans un autre registre, Pierre Guariche participe au développement des grands équipements touristiques en bord de mer et à la montagne. Côté plage, il conçoit ainsi l’aménagement intérieur de la résidence Athéna, à Bandol. Côté stations de sports d’hiver, il réalise, entre autres, un restaurant et une discothèque à Isola 2000, mais surtout un vaste programme pour La Plagne : les logements, deux hôtels, une chapelle, une banque, une pharmacie, des cinémas, des galeries commerciales... Ce skieur invétéré ira même jusqu’à dessiner la benne du téléphérique.

À Évry (91), Guariche aménage le Palais de Justice, ainsi que la Préfecture de l’Essonne. Toujours à la pointe de l’innovation, il bénéficie, pour la conception de certains sièges, des services d’un lieu d’expérimentation nouvellement créé : l’Atelier de recherche et de création (ARC) du Mobilier national, l’institution chargée de l’ameublement des locaux des plus hautes administrations de l’État.

En 1965, Pierre Guariche décroche le Prix René-Gabriel qui récompense « des créateurs imaginant des modèles innovants dans une gamme qualitative et économique », reconnaissance ultime de son rôle dans l’histoire du mobilier et des luminaires modernes de série.