Sammode Studio

G1 floor lamp / wall lamp / pendant

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

The G1 lamp designed by Pierre Guariche in 1951 became a marker of french 1950s design. It is distinguished by a spun metal shade and two light sources providing direct and indirect lighting. Adorned with a solid brass ball acting as a counterweight, its brass arm seems to explore the limits of gravity. Its spectacular shade is available in vermilion red, black, white and chalk.

Available in wall, floor and pendant versions, it will naturally find its place in the reading corner or closed to the dinning table, where it will provide a soft and warm atmosphere.

Like all Sammode lights, the G1 is manufactured, assembled and packaged in France, in Châtillon-sur-Saône in the Vosges, which ensures perfect manufacturing quality.

Light source 2 x E27 LED dimmable (bulb not included) – CLII – cable 2 m (wall lamp) or 2,5 m (floor lamp) with dim switch on the cable

Shade lacquered aluminium – matt black, matt white, glossy red or glossy chalk Arm brushed varnished brass Mast black metal Source hidden white lacquered aluminium Fixation base black lacquered metal

Origin made in France Guaranty 5 years

G1 et G1 Large floor lamps

poids 12,55 kg

poids 13 kg

G1 floor lamp
(4 colours available) 

2460 €

G1 Large floor lamp
(4 colours available)

2700 €

G1 wall lamp

weight 5,78 kg

G1 wall lamp
(4 colours available)

2220 €

G1 pendant 

weight 5,78 kg

G1 pendant
(4 colours available)

2220 €

Pierre Guariche (1926 - 1995)

If there was one design discipline in which he excelled it was lighting. Designer and interior architect Pierre Guariche was one of the most prolific luminaire designers of the 1950s. That much is clear from his productive collaboration with lamp manufacturer Disderot, for which he was the preferred designer, and for which he would develop more than 40 influential and groundbreaking pieces.

Pierre Guariche designed the full range of luminaires, or perhaps more accurately families of lamps – desk lamps, floor lamps, wall lamps and pendant lamps – to cover all the needs identified for a given space. His luminaires are hugely comfortable and convenient in use, with no visible light source and an appropriate quality of light, whether intended for general lighting or traffic areas, to create an atmosphere or for a specific use, soft, powerful or even diffused by reflection.

The designer invented an enormous variety of solutions: the adjustable balance arm, the cantilever, the pivoting and tilting arm, the ball- jointed arm and spherical counterweights. In his designs, there is no gratuitous stylistic excess or purposeless detail, whether technically or functionally.

Pierre Guariche introduced the codes of a radical—not to say avant-garde – aesthetic. On the one hand, purity of line and totally original forms. On the other, an innovative technical dimension and a real intelligence in the use of materials, especially metal.

As a designer and manufacturer, Sammode brings the full weight of its industrial expertise in luminaire production, and particularly lighting suitability and a deep-rooted knowledge of metalworking. Faithful to the original designs and incorporating today’s technologies, the Sammode –Pierre Guariche models benefit, like all Sammode luminaires, from exceptional production quality and French manufacture.

Sammode Studio

lampadaire / applique / suspension G1

design Pierre Guariche, 1951

Le luminaire G1 imaginé par Pierre Guariche en 1951 et devenu un marqueur du design des années 1950. Il se distingue par un abat-jour en métal repoussé et deux sources lumineuses apportant un éclairage direct et indirect. Orné d’une boule de laiton massif faisant office de contre-poids, son bras également en laiton semble explorer les limites de la gravité. Son abat-jour spectaculaire est disponible en rouge vermillon, noir, blanc et craie.

Disponible en formats applique, lampadaire et suspension, il trouvera naturellement place prêt d’un coin lecture ou d’une table pour dîner, auxquels il confèrera une ambiance douce et chaleureuse.

Comme tous les luminaires Sammode, le G1 est fabriqué, assemblé et emballé en France, à Châtillon-sur-Saône dans les Vosges, ce qui permet d’assurer une qualité de fabrication parfaite.

Source lumineuse 2 x E27 LED dimmable (ampoules non fournies) – CLII – Câble 2 m (applique) ou 2,5 m (lampadaire) avec variateur sur le câble 

Abat-jour aluminium laqué noir mat, blanc mat, rouge brillant ou craie brillant Bras laiton vernis brossé Mat métal noir Cache-source aluminium laqué blanc Base de fixation métal laqué noir 

Fabrication française Garantie 5 ans

lampadaires G1 et G1 Large

poids 5,78 kg

poids 12,55 kg

poids 13 kg

lampadaire G1 Large
(4 couleurs disponibles)

2700 €

lampadaire G1
(4 couleurs disponibles)

2460 €

applique G1 

poids 5,78 kg

applique G1
(4 couleurs disponibles)

2220 €

suspension G1 

poids 5,78 kg

suspension G1
(4 couleurs disponibles)

2220 €

Pierre Guariche (1926 - 1995)

S’il est un domaine dans lequel il excellait, c’est bien le luminaire. Le designer et architecte d’intérieur Pierre Guariche en est un des créateurs les plus féconds des années 1950. En témoigne sa fructueuse collaboration avec l’éditeur de lampes Disderot, dont il fut, à cette période, le concepteur attitré et pour lequel il développa plus d’une quarantaine de modèles qui ont marqué leur époque.

Pierre Guariche a conçu une gamme complète de luminaires ou, plus exactement, des « familles » – lampe de bureau, lampadaire, applique, suspension... –, qui comblent les besoins identifiés de chaque espace. 

Ses luminaires offrent un grand confort d’utilisation – aucune source lumineuse n’est apparente – et une qualité de lumière idoine : éclairage général ou de circulation, d’ambiance ou ponctuel, doux ou puissant, voire diffusé par réflexion.

Pierre Guariche a inventé une grande variété de dispositifs : balancier orientable, porte-à-faux, potence pivotante ou basculante, bras articulé à l’aide de rotules et de sphères–contrepoids... Chez lui, aucun stylisme gratuit ni détail non justifié, que ce soit techniquement ou fonctionnellement.

Pierre Guariche a mis en place les codes d’une esthétique radicale, sinon avant-gardiste. D’un côté, des lignes pures et des formes inédites. De l’autre, une dimension technique novatrice et une intelligence des matériaux, notamment pour le métal.

Concepteur-fabricant, Sammode met au service de ces rééditions son expertise industrielle dans la fabrication des luminaires, en particulier la justesse de l’éclairage et une grande connaissance du travail du métal. Fidèles au dessin originel et intégrant des technologies contemporaines, les modèles siglés Sammode – Pierre Guariche bénéficient, à l’instar de l’ensemble des luminaires Sammode, d’une qualité de réalisation exceptionnelle et d’une fabrication française.