Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam tincidunt lorem enim, eget fringilla turpis congue vitae. Phasellus aliquam nisi ut lorem

LAST DAY!

15% OFF
ON (almost) EVERYTHING!
code DESIGN15

(not combinable with other ongoing offers/codes)

BLACK, IT’S ALSO OUR SMART DEALS AND CAMPAIGNS:

CAMPAIGNS

> ALL CAMPAIGNS

NEW IN

ABOUT SCANDINAVIAN DESIGN

Several key factors unite the Scandinavian approach to design. A number of these have their origin in the characteristics of the Nordic environment. The northern countries are famously dark, cold and snow-covered for long months of the year, with brief, intense light-filled summers. Important areas are mountainous and heavily forested. It is therefore not surprising that many Scandinavian designs have been inspired in some sense by organic forms, materials or natural patterning.

To survive in such inhospitable conditions, Scandinavian have developed a strong practical bent that makes the most out of limited resources and delivers workable solution with optimum economy. Before the modernist’ credo “form follows function” was ever coined, the useful everyday Scandinavian objects displayed such a conviction.

Because industrialisation arrived late in the region, the traditional craft skills remained alive. As a result, Scandinavian modern refused to allow the machine production to supplant the instinctive handling of materials that is innate to craft. While resourcefulness and practicality give Scandinavian design its clarity, its living craft tradition root the design process in the material world and the individual artistic imagination.

During the long months of darkness, Scandinavian homes had to offer psychological warmth as well as physical shelter and the notion of domestic cheer is embedded in the Scandinavian approach to design. Emotional warmth is never designed out of the picture, as it can be in the more austere reaches of the industrial inspired Bauhaus aesthetic. That warmth may be expressed in colour, pattern and texture or in organic form, but there is always a human quality to Scandinavian design, even at its most futuristic.

There is also an important moral dimension, which has to do with the political and civic climate rather that the physical one. The prevailing ethos in Scandinavia has long been socially inclusive, liberal and tolerant, which has led to the shared conviction that it is the role of design to improve life for everyone, not to pander to a privileged minority. As a consequence, simple, understated, well-made products have long been preferred over conspicuous consumption of status symbols or showy grandiose effect. 


>> MORE

>>  ALL BRANDS

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipiscing elit. Aliquam tincidunt lorem enim, eget fringilla turpis congue vitae. Phasellus aliquam nisi ut lorem

- 15%
sur presque TOUT LE RESTE*
avec le code DESIGN15

(quelques marques exclues ; pas cumulable avec d’autres offres en cours).

BLACK, C’EST AUSSI DES SMART DEALS ET DES CAMPAGNES :

 > SMART DEALS
LUMINAIRES

jusqu’à -60%

> SMART DEALS
MOBILIER 

jusqu’à 50%

CAMPAGNES

> VOIR TOUTES LES CAMPAGNES

NOUVEAU

        À PROPOS DU DESIGN SCANDINAVE

Plusieurs facteurs clefs ont façonné le design scandinave,  parmi lesquels un bon nombre sont liés aux conditions environnementales. Les pays nordiques sont célèbres pour leurs longs mois dominés par l’obscurité, le froid et la neige, avec des belles saisons brèves, intenses et très lumineuses. De  vastes zones sont montagneuses et couvertes de forêts. Rien d’étonnant, dans ces conditions, à ce que le design scandinave soit très inspiré par la nature, au travers des formes, des matériaux ou des motifs ornementaux.

Pour survivre dans ces conditions inhospitalières, les Nordiques ont depuis toujours intégré l’idée qu’il fallait apprendre à tirer le maximum des ressources limitées. L’inutile et le gaspillage n’y ont pas leur place. Cette économie de moyen conditionne les objets du quotidien scandinave depuis bien avant l’apparition du fameux crédo du modernisme – «less is more» et «la forme doit obéir à la fonction».

Comme l’industrialisation est arrivée tardivement dans la région, l’artisanat traditionnel était resté vivant quand le design a pris son essor. Issu de cet artisanat, les précurseurs du design scandinave n’ont jamais laissé la machine prendre le pas sur le savoir-faire manuel et c’est au contact direct des matériaux qu’ils ont nourri leur imagination d’artiste.

Du fait des longs mois d’hiver, les maisons se doivent d’offrir une protection à la fois physique et morale et l’aspiration au bien-être intérieur a toujours été au cœur des préoccupations des designers. Sur ce point, le design scandinave s’écarte sensiblement de traditions plus austères, comme le Bauhaus très inspiré par l’univers industriel. Qu’elle s’exprime par le choix des matériaux, les couleurs, les matières ou les formes organiques,  la chaleur humaine est toujours présente dans le design scandinave, même dans les versions les plus futuristes.

Un dernier facteur clef relève, non pas du climat physique, mais du climat moral, politique et social. Les sociétés scandinaves sont traditionnellement inclusives et égalitaires, libérales et tolérantes. Le design y est considéré comme un moyen d’améliorer la vie quotidienne de tout un chacun, et non seulement d’une élite privilégiée. Cela explique la prévalence des objets simples, compréhensibles et bien faits au détriment d’un design plus ostentatoire et spectaculaire.


>> SUITE

>> LES MARQUES